Empire of Illusion
37%
off

Empire of Illusion : The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle

By (author) Chris Hedges

US$10.67US$16.94

You save US$6.27

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

We now live in two Americas. One--now the minority--functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other--the majority--is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority--which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected--presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture--attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies--to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

show more
  • Paperback | 240 pages
  • 137.16 x 205.74 x 17.78mm | 249.47g
  • 11 Nov 2010
  • Avalon Publishing Group
  • Nation Books
  • New York
  • English
  • First Trade Paper Edition
  • 1568586132
  • 9781568586137
  • 24,582

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Chris Hedges is a Pulitzer Prize--winning journalist. He spent nearly two decades as a correspondent in Central America, the Middle East, Africa, and the Balkans, with fifteen years at the New York Times. He is the author of numerous bestselling books, including Empire of Illusion; Death of the Liberal Class; War is a Force that Gives Us Meaning; and Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt, which he co-wrote with Joe Sacco. He writes a weekly column for the online magazine Truthdig. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

show more