• Emperor'S Handbook, the See large image

    Emperor'S Handbook, the (Other book format) By (author) Aurelius

    $16.81 - Save $5.19 23% off - RRP $22.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn the tradition of "The Art of Living" and Marcus Aurelius' "Meditations"--a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history--available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as "the most beautiful figure in history." Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus's book as "the best ever written by a major ruler," and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it "the essential book on character, leadership, duty." Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides. "The Emperor's Handbook" offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus's words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Emperor'S Handbook, the

    Title
    Emperor'S Handbook, the
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Aurelius
    Physical properties
    Format: Other book format
    Number of pages: 160
    Width: 160 mm
    Height: 240 mm
    Thickness: 17 mm
    Weight: 292 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780743233835
    ISBN 10: 0743233832
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: PHI
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T8.6
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    BISAC V2.8: PHI005000
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 05
    BIC subject category V2: HPCA
    LC subject heading: ,
    Ingram Theme: CULT/ITALY, CHRN/ANCIEN
    B&T Modifier: Text Format: 41
    BISAC V2.8: HIS002020
    B&T General Subject: 610
    Ingram Subject Code: PH
    Libri: I-PH
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: PHI002000, SEL019000
    DC21: 188
    LC subject heading: ,
    DC22: 188
    Abridged Dewey: 188
    B&T Approval Code: E10182400
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 15230
    LC subject heading:
    LC classification: B580 .H53 M3713 2002
    Publisher
    SIMON & SCHUSTER
    Imprint name
    SIMON & SCHUSTER
    Publication date
    05 November 2002
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    Scot and David Hicks have headed schools in Europe and America. Scot lives in Paris, France. David is president of Darlington School in Rome, Georgia. He is author of "Norms & Nobility, " which won the American Library Association's Outstanding Book Award for education. Both brothers hail from Montana, where they spend their summers with family.
    Review quote
    Donald Kagan Hillhouse Professor of History and Classics at Yale University The wisdom contained in this handbook has been admired through the ages. The Hicks brothers' excellently clear translation happily now makes it accessible.