Emperor'S Handbook, the

Emperor'S Handbook, the

Other book format

By (author) Aurelius

$16.48
List price $21.99
You save $5.51 25% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: SIMON & SCHUSTER
  • Format: Other book format | 160 pages
  • Dimensions: 145mm x 216mm x 18mm | 272g
  • Publication date: 26 November 2002
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0743233832
  • ISBN 13: 9780743233835
  • Sales rank: 47,719

Product description

In the tradition of "The Art of Living" and Marcus Aurelius' "Meditations"--a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history--available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as "the most beautiful figure in history." Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus's book as "the best ever written by a major ruler," and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it "the essential book on character, leadership, duty." Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides. "The Emperor's Handbook" offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus's words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Scot and David Hicks have headed schools in Europe and America. Scot lives in Paris, France. David is president of Darlington School in Rome, Georgia. He is author of "Norms & Nobility, " which won the American Library Association's Outstanding Book Award for education. Both brothers hail from Montana, where they spend their summers with family.

Review quote

Donald Kagan Hillhouse Professor of History and Classics at Yale University The wisdom contained in this handbook has been admired through the ages. The Hicks brothers' excellently clear translation happily now makes it accessible.