• The Elgar Companion to Recent Economic Methodology See large image

    The Elgar Companion to Recent Economic Methodology (Elgar original reference) (Paperback) Edited by John B. Davis, Edited by D. Wade Hands

    $57.00 - Save $10.82 15% off - RRP $67.82 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionEconomic methodology has traditionally been associated with logical positivism in the vein of Milton Friedman, Karl Popper, Imre Lakatos and Thomas Kuhn. However, the emergence and proliferation of new research programs in economics have stimulated many novel developments in economic methodology. This impressive Companion critically examines these advances in methodological thinking, particularly those that are associated with the new research programs which challenge standard economic methodology. Bringing together a collection of leading contributors to this new methodological thinking, the authors explain how it differs from the past and point towards further concerns and future issues. The recent research programs explored include behavioral and experimental economics, neuroeconomics, new welfare theory, happiness and subjective well-being research, geographical economics, complexity and computational economics, agent-based modeling, evolutionary thinking, macroeconomics and Keynesianism after the crisis, and new thinking about the status of the economics profession and the role of the media in economics. This important compendium will prove invaluable for researchers and postgraduate students of economic methodology and the philosophy of economics. Practitioners in the vanguard of new economic thinking will also find plenty of useful information in this path-breaking book.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Elgar Companion to Recent Economic Methodology

    Title
    The Elgar Companion to Recent Economic Methodology
    Authors and contributors
    Edited by John B. Davis, Edited by D. Wade Hands
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 552
    Width: 154 mm
    Height: 232 mm
    Thickness: 30 mm
    Weight: 820 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780857938244
    ISBN 10: 085793824X
    Classifications

    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: ECO
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: S4.5
    B&T Merchandise Category: TXT
    BIC subject category V2: KCA
    Abridged Dewey: 330
    B&T General Subject: 180
    BISAC V2.8: BUS016000
    LC classification: HB
    BISAC V2.8: BUS069030, BUS055000
    BIC subject category V2: KCK
    DC23: 330.072
    Thema V1.0: KCA, KCK
    Publisher
    Edward Elgar Publishing Ltd
    Imprint name
    Edward Elgar Publishing Ltd
    Publication date
    13 August 2013
    Publication City/Country
    Cheltenham
    Table of contents
    Contents: 1. Introduction: The Changing Character of Economic Methodology John B. Davis and D. Wade Hands PART I: ECONOMICS OF BEHAVIOR AND CHOICE 2. Behavioral Economics Floris Heukelom 3. Experimental Economics Ana C. Santos 4. Neuroeconomics and Economic Methodology Don Ross 5. High-Fidelity Economics Anna Alexandrova and Daniel M. Haybron PART II: WELFARE AND MICROECONOMIC POLICY 6. Current Trends in Welfare Measurement Erik Angner 7. Happiness and Experienced Utility Luigino Bruni and Pier Luigi Porta 8. Applied Policy, Welfare Economics, and Mill's Half-Truths David Colander 9. Economics as Usual: Geographical Economics Shaped by Disciplinary Conventions Uskali Maki and Caterina Marchionni PART III: COMPLEXITY AND COMPUTATION IN ECONOMICS 10. Computational Economics Paola Tubaro 11. Agent-based Modeling: The Right Mathematics for the Social Sciences? Paul L. Borrill and Leigh Tesfatsion 12. Computing in Economics K. Vela Velupillai and Stefano Zambelli PART IV: EVOLUTION AND EVOLUTIONARY ECONOMICS 13. A Philosophical Perspective on Contemporary Evolutionary Economics Geoffrey M. Hodgson 14. Economics in a Cultural Key: Complexity and Evolution Revisited Kurt Dopfer 15. Heterogeneous Economic Evolution: A Different View on Darwinizing Evolutionary Economics Jack Vromen PART V: MACROECONOMICS 16. Recent Developments in Macroeconomics: The DSGE Approach to Business Cycles in Perspective Pedro Garcia Duarte 17. On the Role of Theory and Evidence in Macroeconomics Katarina Juselius 18. Methodological Issues in Keynesian Macroeconomics Roger E. Backhouse and Bradley W. Bateman 19. The Dismal State of Macroeconomics and the Opportunity for a New Beginning L. Randall Wray PART VI: THE ECONOMICS PROFESSION, THE MEDIA AND THE PUBLIC 20. The Spontaneous Methodology of Orthodoxy, and Other Economists' Afflictions in the Great Recession Philip Mirowski 21. Invasion of the Bloggers: A Preliminary Study on the Demography and Content of the Economic Blogosphere Tiago Mata Index