The Dress Thief
25%
off

The Dress Thief : A Love Story Set in the Sensuous World of Parisian Haute Couture

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A love story set in the gloriously chic world of 1930s Parisian haute couture. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Amy Snow by Tracy Rees and Dinah Jefferies' The Tea Planter's Wife. Alix Gower has a dream: to join the ranks of Coco Chanel to become a designer in the high-stakes world of Parisian haute couture. But Alix also has a secret: she supports her family by stealing designs to create bootlegs for the foreign market. A hidden sketchbook and two minutes inside Hermes is all she needs to create a perfect replica, to be whisked off to production in New York. Then Alix is given her big break - a chance to finally realize her dream in one of the most prominent Parisian fashion houses - but at the price of copying the breakthrough Spring Collection. Knowing this could be her only opportunity, Alix accepts the arrangement. But when a mystery from her past resurfaces and a chance meeting has her falling into the arms of a handsome English war reporter, Alix learns that the slightest misstep - or misplaced trust - could be all it takes for her life to begin falling apart at the seams.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 592 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 38mm | 386g
  • Quercus Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1848665881
  • 9781848665880
  • 238,434

Review quote

Natalie's books are a treasure trove of vibrant, vivid stories, memorable characters and pacy writing! Tracy Rees, bestselling author of Amy Snow Evans demonstrates good research of fashion and history ... with a dose of intriguing tension in the playing field of Parisian haute couture. This will appeal to fans of Santa Montefiore and Downton Abbey Shyama in Boekenland 'A delicious treat of a novel. I loved the setting in 1930s Paris and I was utterly charmed by the story's delectable heroine, as she struggled to make her mark in this seductive but perilous world' Margaret Leroy, author of The Collaborator. Margaret Leroy 'A fascinating evocation of a great fashion house and the knife-edge the designers live on. Natalie Meg Evans is a born storyteller' Sara Craven, bestselling writer of romances. Sara Craven 'A truly accomplished and delicious debut novel' Laurie Graham. Laurie Graham 'Rich in detail, this is a pacy and engaging read, full of cloak and dagger intrigue, beautiful clothes and romance' Sunday Mirror. Sunday Mirror 'This story is as glamorous as the gowns it describes' The Lady. The Ladyshow more

About Natalie Meg Evans

Natalie Meg Evans was winner of the 2014 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award, winner of the 2015 Public Book Awards and shortlisted for the 2015 Romance Writers of America (RWA) RITA Awards and the 2015 LoveStories Historical fiction awards. She writes full-time from her house in rural north Suffolk.show more

Review Text

Natalie's books are a treasure trove of vibrant, vivid stories, memorable characters and pacy writing! Tracy Rees, bestselling author of Amy Snowshow more