The Dog That Talked to God

The Dog That Talked to God

Book rating: 03 Paperback

By (author) Jim Kraus

$12.11
List price $23.42
You save $11.31 48% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $20.37
  • Publisher: Abingdon Press
  • Format: Paperback | 320 pages
  • Dimensions: 140mm x 216mm x 25mm | 386g
  • Publication date: 26 April 2012
  • Publication City/Country: Nashville, Tennessee
  • ISBN 10: 1426742568
  • ISBN 13: 9781426742569
  • Edition statement: New.
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations
  • Sales rank: 284,478

Product description

Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief. It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus...and God...knows. "Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man's best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls." - Rob Stennett author, Homemade Haunting and The Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher "I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn't what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more." - Ane Mulligan, Sr. Editor of Novel Rocket "The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned." - New York Journal of Books"

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Customer reviews

By Ruth Hill 30 Dec 2013 3

I had hoped I would like this book better than I did, but unfortunately, it was not to be. I love dogs, and the beginning of the book was fine. However, once our heroine had Rufus (the dog) "talk," I really lost interest. I know that we tend to think that our animals talk, but this was just too much for me to accept.

There were some points of the book that did interest me. I was intrigued when Mary first got Rufus. And then about the middle of the book, there was an area that certainly got my attention. And her entire discussion of her love life and views on dating were pretty intriguing.

I really struggled with the fact that she continued to have Rufus pray to God for her. Eventually, that stops, but I felt like Mary never truly finds her faith again. The gospel message is truly lost in this book. It is neat that God brings along "signs" to show her that she is doing the right thing.

The book is clean, and the message is pure. For that reason alone, many people will probably enjoy the book. Rufus is certainly a cute, smart dog, but I just struggled to truly embrace this book.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.