The Deepest Secret: A Novel

The Deepest Secret: A Novel

Hardback

By (author) Carla Buckley

$24.24
List price $31.42
You save $7.18 22% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Product description

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, "The Deepest Secret "is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we're scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves. Eve Lattimore's family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world. Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control--and some secrets that not even love can conceal. Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, "The Deepest Secret "is a novel of rare power--a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us. Praise for "The Deepest Secret" "A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling."--"People" "Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves."--Kimberly McCreight, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Reconstructing Amelia" "Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be.""--Providence Journal" "Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review) " " "Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis."--William Landay, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Defending Jacob" " " "Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters."--Lisa Gardner, #1 "New York Times "bestselling author of "Fear Nothing"

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Carla Buckley is the author of "The Deepest Secret, Invisible, "and" The Things That Keep Us Here, "which was nominated for a Thriller Award as a best first novel and the Ohioana Book Award for fiction. She is a graduate of Oberlin College and the Wharton School of Business, and lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with her husband and three children. She is currently at work on her next novel, "The Good Goodbye."

Review quote

"Smart and thrilling . . . a taut family drama about a mother blindly obsessed with protecting her teen son from the UV light that could kill him."--"People" " " "A harrowing story."--New York "Daily News" "Daring . . . Buckley takes readers into the grayest area imaginable. . . . Though often heart-wrenching, the extensive emotional development Buckley packs into a world of everyday life overlaid by nightmare will leave readers wondering how far they might go for their loved ones, and the additional moral conundrums faced by each member of Eve's family will provide hearty book club discussion fodder. As winding and treacherous as a slick road, this masterful thriller will leave readers clutching their chests."--"Shelf Awareness" " " "In Buckley's superb third novel, ordinary human nature and extraordinary circumstances collide to powerful effect. The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . [Its] suburban world is beautifully observed, its characters convincing, flawed, and sympathetic. Ultimately, Buckley delivers a gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review) ""The Deepest Secret" is one of Carla Buckley's finest accomplishments. Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters."--Lisa Gardner, #1 "New York Times" bestselling author "Every family is vulnerable, and every parent knows it. Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis. A memorable novel about how far a parent will go for her child, "The Deepest Secret "will make you count your blessings."--William Landay, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Defending Jacob" " " "Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting, "The Deepest Secret" is a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sac