Death at Dawn
20%
off

Death at Dawn : A Liberty Lane Thriller

  • Paperback
By (author) Caro Peacock

US$11.04US$13.86

You save US$2.82

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: a new heroine for fans of Matthew Hawkwood and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. Thomas Jacques Lane - radical, romantic, scholar and devoted father - had led an unconventional life but of one thing his daughter, Liberty, is certain: he would never have taken part in a duel. So when she receives a note informing her of his death in just such a manner, Liberty ignores all advice and sets off in pursuit of the truth. With no resources bar her wits, she travels to the Continent and back in search of her father's killer. And as the nation prepares for the coronation of a young Victoria, Liberty uncovers murder and treachery at the very highest levels...

show more
  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 28mm | 300g
  • 07 Jan 2008
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • Harper
  • London
  • 0007244177
  • 9780007244171
  • 705,300

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Caro Peacock acquired the reading habit from her childhood growing up in a farmhouse. Later, she developed an interest in women in Victorian society and from this grew her character of Liberty Lane. She rides, climbs and trampolines as well as studying wild flowers.

show more

Review quote

Praise for 'Death at Dawn' 'Great period detail and heaps of energy... feisty' Daily Mirror 'Echoes of Georgette Heyer... well-crafted... an enjoyable romp' She 'Good old-fashioned adventure... romps along at a fine pace...a thrilling murder-mystery' Easy Living 'Some well-described set pieces temper the breakneck pace of the action, and the ending is as satisfying as one could wish' The Times 'Light, easy reading for anyone who enjoys a bit of Victorian mystery' Observer 'An enjoyable historical novel' Woman's Day 'Fast-paced and lively... this historical drama will definitely keep you intrigued - definitely hard to put down!' My Weekly

show more