Cupcakes at Carringtons

Cupcakes at Carringtons

Book rating: 05 Paperback Carrington's

By (author) Alexandra Brown

$5.48
List price $12.48
You save $7.00 56% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Harper
  • Format: Paperback | 400 pages
  • Dimensions: 130mm x 198mm x 28mm | 100g
  • Publication date: 15 July 2014
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0007488238
  • ISBN 13: 9780007488230
  • Sales rank: 6,593

Product description

A deliciously indulgent read from a hot debut writer and first in a series of books set in Carrington's Department Store - where life is sweeter...Perfect for fans of Meet Me in the Cupcake Cafe and Breakfast at Darcy's. Georgie Hart had it all - as a top personal shopper in London, the heady world of Mulberry launch parties and Louis Vuitton goody bags meant she was living the dream. But all that extravagance took its toll on her bank balance and it was time to stop drinking champagne on beer money. Now Georgie runs the luxury bag concession at Carrington's Department store in the pretty seaside town of Mulberry Bay and her lavish spending is confined to a red velvet cupcake with butter cream icing in Carrington's cafe. But her plans for a quiet life are thwarted when Carrington's goes into a recession-busting makeover and soon, with the arrival of Maxine, wielding the axe in her immaculately manicured hands, Georgie is fighting not only for her job, but also for the attentions of her dishy boss, James. And when newcomer Tom arrives, who may or may not be the best thing since sliced bread, Georgie must decide where her loyalties really lie...

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Alexandra Brown began her writing career as the City Girl columnist for The London Paper which she wrote for two years before giving it up to concentrate on writing novels. She is now the author of the Carrington's books - set in a department store in the pretty seaside town of Mulberry-On-Sea, she has written three books and a short story following the life, loves and laughs of sales assistant, Georgie Hart. THE GREAT CHRISTMAS KNIT OFF is Alexandra's fourth book and is first in a new series set in the fictional village of Tindledale, following the lives of all the characters that live there. Alex lives in a real village near the south coast of England, with her husband, daughter and a very shiny black Labrador. For more about Alex, please visit her website - www.alexandrabrown.co.uk or chat to her on Facebook.com/alexandrabrownauthor and Twitter @alexbrownbooks

Customer reviews

By Kevin Loh 20 Jan 2013 5

What I thought about it:
My thoughts are still jumbled up after reading. I'm still missing Georgie's big heart and Eddie, whose gorgeous flair has left me wanting a GBF (gay best friend). So I'll layer things so you won't have a headache when you read this. Here goes!

Cupcakes at Carrington's follows the story of Georgie Hart, a super sweet twenty-something with a penchant for luxury bags and an incurable addiction to red velvet cupcakes with buttercream icing and sprinkles. It's rare to come across a heroine who loves her job - hardly so. In Georgie's case, she loves hers because she's blooming good at what she does. She runs the Women's Accessories department at Carrington's and frankly, I'm pretty jealous. I would LOVE to caress lovely, soft leather handbags and the smell of newness on them is mouth-watering. Ugh, how disgusting of me.

Everything seems to be going her way until disaster strikes and the perfect job is turned into a helpless pursuit to fight for her job. Enter the femme fatale, Maxine. Stuck-up and a horrendous cow. Putting everyone's job at stake and making life working at Carrington's a living hell with her manipulative ways, making perfectly sure everyone suffers. Oh, no! How could I have forgotten. Introducing devastating heartthrob, Tom. Handsome, flirty and utterly delicious Tom. Without giving much away, of course. You'll have to read it to know what happens. *wink*

Georgie Hart is such a down-to-earth, sweet, adorable heroine. She's friendly, she gets on with anyone who is everyone, well except certain people of course. She's a wonderful character, humble and kind to all around her. I think the both of us would hit if off pretty well. I can imagine us having cupcakes at Cupcakes at Carrington's, gossiping with Eddie and Sam over a lovely cup of milky tea. She carries herself very well in the book, how she tells everything that's happening around her. I loved how I could relate to her feasibly - from sharing her heart-skips-a-beat moments to the painful, heartbreaking stabs of her past. Although on the surface, this may seem like a fun, feel-good chick lit book, but there are some heartbreaking parts in the book which would compel you to give your heart out to Georgie.

The characters in the book were amazing to read about - they were really real - a wonderful presence in the book as they made it more fun and colourful. Georgie's GBF, Eddie is such a winner for a best friend. He's the kind of friend you'd rely on and would confide in him without a moment's doubt. If I can say so myself, I kind of fell in love with him from the first chapter. You'll know why. He's charming, adorable and I have a massive crush on him. Sadly, he's fictional. Georgie's other best friend, Sam is another darling friend I would want to have, super supportive and understanding. Despite being extremely loaded, how shallow of me, she is adamant that she has a job. I really like her for that, instead of being one of those spoilt Chelsea girls, she's a rather lovely girl with a big heart. And as for the gorgeous, panty-ripping handsome blokes, I'll let you read so you'll experience the fireworks in your stomach, the flips and of course, the flutters and blushes.

The book is written from Georgie's point of view and I really enjoyed reading it from her perspective. Alexandra's (Alex) writing is fresh, upcoming and it complements the plot as it really worked for me. However clichéd this may sound, it was a book I could escape to. Pure escapism for me. I let go all my worries and thought accumulated over the past weeks and delved into it wholeheartedly. The book is set in Mulberry-On-Sea, a picturesque seaside town as opposed to the busy metropolitan London. The characters were fabulous. The plot carried me throughout the book and made me fall in love with the characters, Carrington's and even Dusty the Labrador!

Verdict:
I loved it. Here, I've said it. Perfect for you if you loved Ali Harris's Miracle on Regent Street, the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella and the I Heart series by Lindsey Kelk, not to mention Meet Me at The Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan!

A sparkling debut by Alexandra Brown, probably one of the best books I've read these past months. You'll devour this delicious slice of chick lit like how you polish off your favourite cupcake. Sinfully delectable and delightful.

Rating : 5/5

Review quote

'Defies the chick lit cliche.' - Heat magazine 'Cupcakes at Carrington's is deliciously delightful from start to finish, sprinkled with magic and full of heart.' Miranda Dickinson 'I loved it. 5/5' - iheart-chicklit.blogspot.co.uk 'So much more than just a chick lit novel. It has the humour of Sophie Kinsella, the warmth of Cecelia Ahern and the wit and wisdom of Maeve Binchy and the cheek of Are You Being Served?' - Jamieson Villeneuve, Thebookpedler.wordpress.com 'My favourite book this year - funny, romantic and fabulous!' - readinginthesunshine.wordpress.com 'I loved Cupcakes At Carrington's, a warm, witty, loveable read with plenty of sparkle and charm.' - Rowan Coleman

Back cover copy

Where life is sweeter... Georgie Hart had it all as a top personal shopper in London, the heady world of Mulberry launch parties and Louis Vuitton goody bags meant she was living the dream. But all that extravagance took its toll on her bank balance and it was time to stop drinking champagne on beer money. Now Georgie runs the luxury bag concession at Carrington s Department store in the pretty seaside town of Mulberry Bay and her lavish spending is confined to a red velvet cupcake with butter cream icing in Carrington s cafe. But her plans for a quiet life are thwarted when Carrington s goes into a recession-busting makeover and soon, with the arrival of Maxine, wielding the axe in her immaculately-manicured hands, Georgie is fighting not only for her job, but also for the attentions of her dishy boss, James. And when newcomer Tom arrives, who may or may not be the best thing since sliced bread, Georgie must decide where her loyalties really lie..."

Table of contents

ENG