• The Cuckoo's Calling See large image

    The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike) (Hardback) By (author) Robert Galbraith, By (author) J. K. Rowling

    03

    $24.98 - Save $2.57 (9%) - RRP $27.55 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $16.19

    DescriptionWhen a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Cuckoo's Calling

    Title
    The Cuckoo's Calling
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Robert Galbraith, By (author) J. K. Rowling
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 464
    Width: 162 mm
    Height: 240 mm
    Thickness: 38 mm
    Weight: 736 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781408703991
    ISBN 10: 1408703998
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    BIC subject category V2: FF, FA
    BIC E4L: CRI
    LC subject heading:
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F2.1
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11200
    Libri: ENGM1020, ENGL3030
    LC subject heading: ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC000000
    LC subject heading:
    DC23: 823.92
    BISAC V2.8: FIC022090
    Thema V1.0: FF
    BIC E4L: CRM
    Publisher
    Little, Brown Book Group
    Imprint name
    Little, Brown
    Publication date
    20 July 2013
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Robert Galbraith is married with two sons. After several years with the Royal Military Police, he was attached to the SIB (Special Investigation Branch), the plain-clothes branch of the RMP. He left the military in 2003 and has been working since then in the civilian security industry. The idea for protagonist Cormoran Strike grew directly out of his own experiences and those of his military friends who have returned to the civilian world. Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym.
    Review quote
    The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place Val McDermid One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years Mark Billingham One of the best crime novels I have ever read Alex Gray Everytime I put this book down, I looked forward to reading more. Gabraith writes at a gentle pace, the pages rich with description and with characters that leap out of them. I loved it. He is a major new talent Peter James Just once in a while a private detective emerges who captures the public imagination in a flash. And here is one who might well do that ... There is no sign that this is Galbraith's first novel, only that he has a delightful touch for evoking London and capturing a new hero. An auspicious debut Daily Mail In a rare feat, Galbraith combines a complex and compelling sleuth and an equally well-formed and unlikely assistant with a baffling crime in his stellar debut ... Readers will hope to see a lot more of this memorable sleuthing team Publishers Weekly, starred review Laden with plenty of twists and distractions, this debut ensures that readers will be puzzled and totally engrossed for quite a spell Library Journal A scintillating debut novel ... Galbraith delivers sparkling dialogue and a convincing portrayal of the emptiness of wealth and glamour The Times, Saturday Review Utterly compelling ... a team made in heaven and I can't wait for the next in the series Saga Magazine The detective and his temp-agency assistant are both full and original characters and their debut case is a good, solid mystery Morning Star The plot could have come from an Agatha Christie novel and yet The Cuckoo's Calling is absolutely of today, colourfully written and great fun Bookoxygen.com Galbraith demonstrates superb flair as a mystery writer Birmingham Post This debut is instantly absorbing, featuring a detective facing crumbling circumstances with resolve instead of cliched self-destruction and a lovable sidekick with contagious enthusiasm for detection ... Kate Atkinson's fans will appreciate his reliance on deduction and observation along with Galbraith's skilled storytelling Booklist The most engaging British detective to emerge so far this year ... An astonishingly mature debut from Galbraith, it marks the start of a fine crime career Daily Mail online