• The Cuckoo's Calling See large image

    The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike) (Hardback) By (author) Robert Galbraith, By (author) J. K. Rowling

    03

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $24.98 - Save $2.45 (8%) - RRP $27.43 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 4 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $11.64

    DescriptionWhen a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data

Reviews for The Cuckoo's Calling

See all reviews
  • Top review

    Very Surprising!4

    Alexandria As a past reader of crime novels, I often found 'crime novels' as synonymous with 'trashy novels.' I was therefore quite anxious when I picked up JK Rowling's crime debut. My apprehension was uncalled for; Rowling presents not only an intriguing mystery but also very compelling characterisation of the protagonist, private detective Comoran Strike.

    The story centralises around Strike's investigation into the supposed suicide of supermodel Lula Landry. JK Rowling makes some very interesting comments regarding 'fame' and 'celebrity' through Strike's personal thoughts on Lula Landry's life. Strike's inner thoughts and personal troubles propel the story forward and certainly make this novel an interesting read.

    I am eagerly awaiting the sequel! by Alexandria

See all reviews