• The Cuckoo's Calling See large image

    The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike) (Hardback) By (author) Robert Galbraith, By (author) J. K. Rowling

    03

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $24.98 - Save $2.45 (8%) - RRP $27.43 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $11.64

    DescriptionWhen a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
Showing 1 to 6 of 6 results

Reviews for The Cuckoo's Calling

Write a review
  • Yes, read it.3

    Nicole A good novel, well worth reading, but just slightly disappointing coming from JK Rowling - it's perhaps not as twisty and action-based as one might hope for from the author of Harry Potter, but it still has her magic way of pulling you through relentlessly from start to finish, and leaves you wanting more.

    Great dialogue in places, and great characterisation of Strike - though just a little more action-based revelation of clues and less talking in places would have made the characters and story more powerful.

    Don't be dissuaded - it is definitely worth reading - but be prepared for long patches of talking and an education in the versatility of the 'f' word (and others). And don't try to guess who the culprit is too early on - you'll probably be right. by Nicole

  • Top review

    Very Surprising!4

    Alexandria As a past reader of crime novels, I often found 'crime novels' as synonymous with 'trashy novels.' I was therefore quite anxious when I picked up JK Rowling's crime debut. My apprehension was uncalled for; Rowling presents not only an intriguing mystery but also very compelling characterisation of the protagonist, private detective Comoran Strike.

    The story centralises around Strike's investigation into the supposed suicide of supermodel Lula Landry. JK Rowling makes some very interesting comments regarding 'fame' and 'celebrity' through Strike's personal thoughts on Lula Landry's life. Strike's inner thoughts and personal troubles propel the story forward and certainly make this novel an interesting read.

    I am eagerly awaiting the sequel! by Alexandria

  • Skilled writing & a good story5

    Timothy Edgar An excellent effort at detective fiction by JK Rowling that I can confidently recommend. I read a lot of this genre and reckon The Cuckoo's Calling rates in the top 5%. by Timothy Edgar

  • About the writer1

    Pat Kennedy Very disappointing that such a gifted writer has to stoop to non stop swearing right throughout the book. And the worst kind of language possible at that. I have never read a book and said at the end "I wish there had been more swearing". But I certainly wish there was less in this one. I cannot recommend this one to family or friends.
    Paddy by Pat Kennedy

  • Awesome!4

    Esmeralda It arrived on time, not a day late! And it was in great condition. The book itself was good, not fantastic, but very good. I honestly don't understand how they didn't figure out JK Rowling had written it sooner, because it's in almost exactly the same format as The Casual Vacancy... by Esmeralda

  • About the Writer5

    Yentl van Dillen Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for J.K. Rowling. by Yentl van Dillen

Write a review
Showing 1 to 6 of 6 results