Christmas Posting Dates
The Cuckoo's Calling

The Cuckoo's Calling

Book rating: 03 Hardback Cormoran Strike

By (author) Robert Galbraith, By (author) J. K. Rowling

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $23.30
Paperback $11.30
  • Publisher: Little, Brown
  • Format: Hardback | 464 pages
  • Dimensions: 162mm x 240mm x 38mm | 736g
  • Publication date: 20 July 2013
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1408703998
  • ISBN 13: 9781408703991
  • Sales rank: 403

Product description

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Robert Galbraith is married with two sons. After several years with the Royal Military Police, he was attached to the SIB (Special Investigation Branch), the plain-clothes branch of the RMP. He left the military in 2003 and has been working since then in the civilian security industry. The idea for protagonist Cormoran Strike grew directly out of his own experiences and those of his military friends who have returned to the civilian world. Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym.

Customer reviews

By Nicole 21 Feb 2014 3

A good novel, well worth reading, but just slightly disappointing coming from JK Rowling - it's perhaps not as twisty and action-based as one might hope for from the author of Harry Potter, but it still has her magic way of pulling you through relentlessly from start to finish, and leaves you wanting more.

Great dialogue in places, and great characterisation of Strike - though just a little more action-based revelation of clues and less talking in places would have made the characters and story more powerful.

Don't be dissuaded - it is definitely worth reading - but be prepared for long patches of talking and an education in the versatility of the 'f' word (and others). And don't try to guess who the culprit is too early on - you'll probably be right.

By Alexandria 05 Dec 2013 4

As a past reader of crime novels, I often found 'crime novels' as synonymous with 'trashy novels.' I was therefore quite anxious when I picked up JK Rowling's crime debut. My apprehension was uncalled for; Rowling presents not only an intriguing mystery but also very compelling characterisation of the protagonist, private detective Comoran Strike.

The story centralises around Strike's investigation into the supposed suicide of supermodel Lula Landry. JK Rowling makes some very interesting comments regarding 'fame' and 'celebrity' through Strike's personal thoughts on Lula Landry's life. Strike's inner thoughts and personal troubles propel the story forward and certainly make this novel an interesting read.

I am eagerly awaiting the sequel!

By Timothy Edgar 06 Nov 2013 5

An excellent effort at detective fiction by JK Rowling that I can confidently recommend. I read a lot of this genre and reckon The Cuckoo's Calling rates in the top 5%.

By Pat Kennedy 19 Oct 2013 1

Very disappointing that such a gifted writer has to stoop to non stop swearing right throughout the book. And the worst kind of language possible at that. I have never read a book and said at the end "I wish there had been more swearing". But I certainly wish there was less in this one. I cannot recommend this one to family or friends.
Paddy

By Esmeralda 21 Aug 2013 4

It arrived on time, not a day late! And it was in great condition. The book itself was good, not fantastic, but very good. I honestly don't understand how they didn't figure out JK Rowling had written it sooner, because it's in almost exactly the same format as The Casual Vacancy...

Review quote

The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place Val McDermid One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years Mark Billingham One of the best crime novels I have ever read Alex Gray Everytime I put this book down, I looked forward to reading more. Gabraith writes at a gentle pace, the pages rich with description and with characters that leap out of them. I loved it. He is a major new talent Peter James Just once in a while a private detective emerges who captures the public imagination in a flash. And here is one who might well do that ... There is no sign that this is Galbraith's first novel, only that he has a delightful touch for evoking London and capturing a new hero. An auspicious debut Daily Mail In a rare feat, Galbraith combines a complex and compelling sleuth and an equally well-formed and unlikely assistant with a baffling crime in his stellar debut ... Readers will hope to see a lot more of this memorable sleuthing team Publishers Weekly, starred review Laden with plenty of twists and distractions, this debut ensures that readers will be puzzled and totally engrossed for quite a spell Library Journal A scintillating debut novel ... Galbraith delivers sparkling dialogue and a convincing portrayal of the emptiness of wealth and glamour The Times, Saturday Review Utterly compelling ... a team made in heaven and I can't wait for the next in the series Saga Magazine The detective and his temp-agency assistant are both full and original characters and their debut case is a good, solid mystery Morning Star The plot could have come from an Agatha Christie novel and yet The Cuckoo's Calling is absolutely of today, colourfully written and great fun Bookoxygen.com Galbraith demonstrates superb flair as a mystery writer Birmingham Post This debut is instantly absorbing, featuring a detective facing crumbling circumstances with resolve instead of cliched self-destruction and a lovable sidekick with contagious enthusiasm for detection ... Kate Atkinson's fans will appreciate his reliance on deduction and observation along with Galbraith's skilled storytelling Booklist The most engaging British detective to emerge so far this year ... An astonishingly mature debut from Galbraith, it marks the start of a fine crime career Daily Mail online