• The Crown of Embers See large image

    The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns (Hardcover)) (Hardback) By (author) Rae Carson

    04

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $15.19 - Save $2.80 15% off - RRP $17.99 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $8.98

    DescriptionThe second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read!" A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting--against assassination attempts and more--and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book!" and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended."


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Reviews for The Crown of Embers

Write a review
  • 4 Stars: Crown of Embers4

    Anya The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson is the second book in the Fire and Thorns trilogy, so there are likely to be spoilers for Girl of Fire and Thorns. I feel the need to preface this review with the fact that I read Crown of Embers will traveling, i.e. in hotels and riding in cars. This means that I was frequently distracted by conversations around me, music playing, and babies crying. I'm a bit worried that this kept me from being pulled in as much as many other people were, but I tend to think that if a book is going to really engross me, it will manage even if sometimes I'm getting distracted from it. I actually found myself having difficulty deciding on any opinion right after I finished it, which is a bit odd for my very opinionated brain, haha. But, just wanted to warn you in case you are unhappy that I didn't think Crown of Embers was quite a 5 star book for me ;).

    Strengths:
    I very much enjoyed the increased exploration of magic and lore in Crown of Embers. Elisa is discovering more about her Godstone and the world around her, with some heavy hints that she is still being kept in the dark about somethings. I can't wait to find out if the third book gives us answers :D.
    Elisa admittedly grew a lot as a person in Girl of Fire and Thorns in terms of self-acceptance and self-confidence around her body. However, in Crown of Embers she needs to figure out what kind of queen she wants to be and how the people from her past will fit into her future. It's been an interesting ride so far!
    I was very happy that Crown of Embers features old friends and new, even though at first it didn't seem like it would.
    Crown of Embers succeeded in giving much more depth to certain secondary characters and I quite enjoyed this insight into their lives. I want more!

    Weaknesses:
    The ending of Crown of Embers almost worked out too well to my brain. Things felt convenient and part of me was grumbling that it was unrealistic, though I will admit that of course it was unrealistic, magic doesn't happen in real life .. But still, you know what I mean right??
    I suppose this is along the lines of the above, but now I'm talking about the middle. Despite harrowing circumstances, I didn't feel enough tension in Crown of Embers. It is tricky to balance the whole "God's chosen one" with "Omg are they going to make it??" You'd think I'd be satisfied that no one was safe after Girl of Fire and Thorns, but apparently not....

    Summary:
    I definitely enjoyed Crown of Embers and am looking forward to reading Bitter Kingdom. However, I found my slight discontent from the first book carried over into the second book. This makes it seem that if you liked the first one, you will like the second one, and if you didn't, then you won't. At least the books are consistent right? I'm really hoping for an epic ending in Bitter Kingdom :D. by Anya

Write a review
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results