Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Book rating: 03 Hardback

By (author) Ed Catmull, With Amy Wallace

USD$21.08
List price $28.00
You save $6.92 24% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: RANDOM HOUSE
  • Format: Hardback | 340 pages
  • Dimensions: 165mm x 241mm x 30mm | 658g
  • Publication date: 4 August 2014
  • ISBN 10: 0812993012
  • ISBN 13: 9780812993011
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations, colour plates
  • Sales rank: 8,070

Product description

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award winning studio behind "Inside Out "and "Toy Story, "comes an incisive book about creativity in business sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. "Fast Company "raves that "Creativity, Inc. " just might be the most thoughtful management book ever. "NEW YORK TIMES" BESTSELLER -NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY"The Huffington Post ""Financial Times ""Success Inc. Library Journal " "Creativity, Inc." is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation into the meetings, postmortems, and Braintrust sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible. For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the "Toy Story" trilogy, "Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, "and" WALL-E, "which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really "is." Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired and so profitable. As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, "Toy Story" was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie s success and in the thirteen movies that followed was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as: Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better. If you don t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead. It s not the manager s job to prevent risks. It s the manager s job to make it safe for others to take them. The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them. A company s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody. Praise for "Creativity, Inc." Over more than thirty years, EdCatmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success. Jim Collins, co-author of "Built to Last "and author of" Good to Great" "" Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it. Seth Godin"

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Ed Catmull is co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios and president of Pixar Animation and Disney Animation. He has been honored with five Academy Awards, including the Gordon E. Sawyer Award for lifetime achievement in the field of computer graphics. He received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Utah. He lives in San Francisco with his wife and children. Amy Wallace is a journalist whose work has appeared in "GQ, The New Yorker, Wired, Los Angeles Times," and "The New York Times Magazine." She currently serves as editor-at-large at "Los Angeles Times" magazine. Previously, she worked as a reporter and editor at the "Los Angeles Times "and wrote a monthly column for "The New York Times" Sunday Business section. She lives in Los Angeles."

Customer reviews

By Nada A. 30 Mar 2014 3

Ed Catmull is one of the founding fathers of Pixar and the current president of Disney and Pixar Animation Studios. This book is partly a memoir about the birth and growth of Pixar and partly his "thoughts for managing a creative culture." Well told, interesting, but you need to put your own filter on the information you want out of the book.

Read my complete review at: http://www.memoriesfrombooks.com/2014/03/creativity-inc-overcoming-unseen-forces.html

*** Reviewed based on a copy received through a publisher�???????�??????�?????�????�???�??�?�¢�??????�?????�????�???�??�?�¢?�??????�?????�????�???�??�?�¬�??????�?????�????�???�??�?�¢?�??????�?????�????�???�??�?�¢s giveaway ***

Review quote

"Steve Jobs--not a man inclined to hyperbole when asked about the qualities of others--once described Ed Catmull as 'very wise, ' 'very self-aware, ' 'really thoughtful, ' 'really, really smart, ' and possessing 'quiet strength, ' all in a single interview. Any reader of "Creativity, Inc., " Catmull's new book on the art of running creative companies, will have to agree. Catmull, president of both Pixar and Walt Disney Animation, has written what just might be the most thoughtful management book ever."--"Fast Company" "It's one thing to be creative; it's entirely another--and much more rare--to build a great and creative culture. Over more than thirty years, Ed Catmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success. Pixar's unrivaled record, and the joy its films have added to our lives, gives his method the most important validation: It works."--Jim Collins, co-author of "Built to Last "and author of" Good to Great" "Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it."--Seth Godin "A fascinating story about how some very smart people built something that profoundly changed the animation business and, along the way, popular culture . . . ["Creativity, Inc."] is a well-told tale, full of detail about an interesting, intricate business. For fans of Pixar films, it's a must-read. For fans of management books, it belongs on the 'value added' shelf."--"The Wall Street Journal" " " "Pixar uses technology only as a means to an end; its films are rooted in human concerns, not computer wizardry. The same can be said of "Creativity Inc., "Ed Catmull's endearingly thoughtful explanation of how the studio he co-founded generated hits such as the "Toy Story" trilogy, "Up" and "Wall-E." . . . [Catmull] uses Pixar's triumphs and near-disasters to o