• The Cornish Trilogy: What's Bred in the Bone; The Rebel Angels; The Lyre of Orpheus See large image

    The Cornish Trilogy: What's Bred in the Bone; The Rebel Angels; The Lyre of Orpheus (Paperback) By (author) Robertson Davies

    $22.19 - Save $5.24 19% off - RRP $27.43 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionThe University of St John and the Holy Ghost (known affectionately as Spook) has a problem - and an opportunity. Strange, eccentric art patron and collector Francis Cornish has died and faculty members have been made executors of his complicated will. But in the realization of their duties, they find themselves drawn into Cornish's bizarre, secretive and mystical world. In this spellbinding trilogy a host of memorable characters - defrocked, mischief-making monks, half-mad professors, gypsies and musical geniuses - become entangled in a story that involves theft, perjury, scholarship, murder, love, and the squandering of plenty of cash.

Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Cornish Trilogy

    The Cornish Trilogy
    What's Bred in the Bone; The Rebel Angels; The Lyre of Orpheus
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Robertson Davies
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 1152
    Width: 129 mm
    Height: 198 mm
    Thickness: 49 mm
    Weight: 776 g
    ISBN 13: 9780241952610
    ISBN 10: 0241952611

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    DC22: 813.54
    BISAC V2.8: FIC000000
    Thema V1.0: FBA
    Penguin Books Ltd
    Imprint name
    Penguin Books Ltd
    Publication date
    28 July 2011
    Publication City/Country
    Author Information
    Robertson Davies was born in Thamesville, Ontario, in 1913. A novelist, playwright, literary critic and essayist, he received numerous awards for his work. It is as a writer of fiction that Robertson Davies achieved international recognition, with such books as The Salterton Trilogy (Tempest-Tost, Leaven of Malice and A Mixture of Frailties); The Deptford Trilogy (Fifth Business, The Manticore and World of Wonders); The Cornish Trilogy (The Rebel Angels, What's Bred in the Bone, shortlisted for the 1986 Booker Prize, and The Lyre of Orpheus); Murther & Walking Spirits, and The Cunning Man. Robertson Davies died in 1995.
    Review quote
    Deliciously readable New York Times One of the most remarkable achievements of contemporary fiction Sunday Times Nourishes the brain while it beguiles the senses Time A first-rate storyteller and a real moralist with a crackling sense of humour Newsweek Davies combines elements of the fantastic with details of everyday life to show us a world in which the miraculous coexists with the mundane New York Times