The Complete Stories of Truman Capote

The Complete Stories of Truman Capote

By (author) , Introduction by


You save US$5.40

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?


A landmark collection that brings together Truman Capote s life s work in the form he called his great love, "The Complete Stories" confirms Capote s status as a master of the short story. Ranging from the gothic South to the chic East Coast, from rural children to aging urban sophisticates, all the unforgettable places and people of Capote s oeuvre are here, in stories as elegant as they are heartfelt, as haunting as they are compassionate. Reading them reminds us of the miraculous gifts of a beloved American original."

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 300 pages
  • 132 x 204 x 20mm | 99.79g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Random House Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 140009691X
  • 9781400096916
  • 89,423

Review quote

"An abundance of riches. . . . It is not hard at all to open to any page . . . and be amused, moved, intrigued."" --Newsday " "To best experience Capote the stylist, one must go back to his short fiction. . . . One experiences as strongly as ever his gift for concrete abstraction and his spectacular observancy."" --The New Yorker ""It is a stunning experience to reread this fiction . . . and to realize how very golden this boy was. . . . We are in the presence of a tremendous talent, and a fully mature technique as well. Norman Mailer's judgment that Capote was the most perfect writer of their generation--'he writes the best sentences word for word, rhythm upon rhythm'--seems true and just." "--The New Criterion ""Capote does some things perfectly than many writers can't do at all. . . . He summons the sensory world in its bewildering, inexhaustible richness."" --Los Angeles Times Book Review "

show more

About Truman Capote

TRUMAN CAPOTE was born in New Orleans on September 30, 1924. In 1948 his first novel, "Other Voices, Other Rooms, " was published to international critical acclaim, assuring Capote a place among the prominent postwar American writers. He won the O. Henry Memorial Short Story Prize twice and was a member of the National Institute of Arts and Letters. His other works include "Breakfast at Tiffany s," "The Grass Harp," and the nonfiction masterpiece "In Cold Blood." He died on August 25, 1984. REYNOLDS PRICE is the James B. Duke Professor of English at Duke University and the distinguished author of more than twenty-five books of fiction, poetry, drama, and essays. He lives in North Carolina."

show more

Flap copy

Most readers know Truman Capote as the author of "Breakfast at Tiffany's and "In Cold Blood; or they remember his notorious social life and wild and witty public appearances. But he was also the author of superb short tales that were as elegant as they were heartfelt, as grotesque as they were compassionate. Now, on the occasion of what would have been his eightieth birthday, the Modern Library presents the first collection that includes all of Capote's short fiction-a volume that confirms his status as one of the masters of this form. Among the selections are "A Tree of Night," in which an innocent student, sitting on a train beside a slatternly woman and her deaf-mute companion, enters a seductive nightmare that brings back the deepest fears of childhood . . . "House of Flowers," the inspiration for a celebrated Broadway musical, which tells of a superstitious prostitute who learns to love in a way no one else can ever understand . . . the holiday perennial "A Christmas Memory," famously adapted into a superb made-for-TV movie . . . and "The Bargain," Capote's melancholy, never-before-published 1950 story about a suburban housewife's shifting fortunes. From the gothic South to the chic East Coast, from rural children to aging urban sophisticates, all the unforgettable places and people of Capote's oeuvre are captured in this first-ever compendium. "The Collected Stories of Truman Capote should restore its author to a place above mere celebrity, to the highest levels of American letters. "From the Hardcover edition.

show more

Table of contents

Introduction: Usable Answers by Reynolds Price The Walls Are Cold (1943) A Mink of One’s Own (1944) The Shape of Things (1944) Jug of Silver (1945) Miram (1945) My Side of the Matter (1945) Preacher’s Legend (1945) A Tree of Night (1945) The Headless Hawk (1946) Shut a Final Door (1947) Children on Their Birthdays (1948) Master Misery (1949) The Bargain (1950) A Diamond Guitar (1950) House of Flowers (1951) A Christmas Memory (1956) Among the Paths to Eden (1960) The Thanksgiving Visitor (1967) Mojave (1975) One Christmas (1982) Story Credits

show more