Ted Hughes

Ted Hughes : Collected Poems: Edited by Paul Keeghan

By (author) , Edited by


Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?


For the first time, the vast canon of Ted Hughes' poetry together in one beautiful and collectable paperback edition. The Collected Poems spans fifty years of work, from Hawk in the Rain to the best-selling Birthday Letters. It also includes the complete texts of such seminal publications as Crow and Tales from Ovid as well as those children's poems that Hughes felt crossed over into adult poetry. Most significantly it also includes small press publications and editions that, until now, remain uncollected and have never before been available to a general readership. Ted Hughes - former Poet Laureate and the winner of the Whitbread and Forward Prizes - here demonstrates his presiding importance in English and twentieth-century poetry. "A guardian spirit of the land and language." (Seamus Heaney).

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 1376 pages
  • 156 x 232 x 58mm | 1,560.37g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 0571227902
  • 9780571227907
  • 54,959

Other books in Poetry

Other people who viewed this bought

Review quote

"'This is a volume of quite astonishing authority - not just mastery, beauty and power, but sheer canonic authority' Philip Hensher, Daily Telegraph"

show more

About Ted Hughes

Ted Hughes (1930-1998) was born in Yorkshire. His first book, The Hawk in the Rain, was published in 1957 by Faber and Faber and was followed by many volumes of poetry and prose for adults and children, including The Iron Man (1968). He received the Whitbread Book of the Year for both Tales from Ovid (1997) and Birthday Letters (1998). He was Poet Laureate from 1984, and in 1998 he was appointed to the Order of Merit.

show more