Collected Poems

Collected Poems

By (author) Sylvia Plath , Volume editor Ted Hughes


You save US$10.58

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

This volume contains all Sylvia Plath's mature poetry written from 1956 up to her death in 1963. The text is preceded by an introduction by Ted Hughes and followed by notes and comments on individual poems. There is also an appendix containing fifty poems from Sylvia Plath's juvenilia. 'For me, the most important literary event of 1981 has been the publication, eighteen years after her death, of Sylvia Plath's Collected Poems, confirming her as one of the most powerful and lavishly gifted poets of our time.' A. Alvarez in the Observer This collection was awarded the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for poetry.

show more
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 134 x 212 x 30mm | 421.84g
  • 19 Aug 2002
  • Faber & Faber Poetry
  • London
  • English
  • index
  • 0571118380
  • 9780571118380
  • 26,841

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Sylvia Plath (1932-1963) was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and studied at Smith College. In 1955 she went to Cambridge University on a Fulbright scholarship, where she met and later married Ted Hughes. She published one collection of poems in her lifetime, The Colossus (1960), and a novel, The Bell Jar (1963); Ariel was published posthumously in 1965. Her Collected Poems, which contains her poetry written from 1956 until her death, was published in 1981 and was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for poetry.

show more

Review text

Her death at 30, by her own hand, sealed the Plath legend and set it afloat with all its mysteries. This edition contains all Plath's work, from the highly stylized poems of The Colossus to the final stark ones. (Kirkus UK)

show more