Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas

Paperback

By (author) David Mitchell

USD$14.34
List price $16.00
You save $1.66 10% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $18.49
  • Publisher: Random House Trade
  • Format: Paperback | 528 pages
  • Dimensions: 137mm x 213mm x 30mm | 658g
  • Publication date: 17 August 2004
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 0375507256
  • ISBN 13: 9780375507250
  • Sales rank: 4,551

Product description

By the "New York Times "bestselling author of "The Bone Clocks"- Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. "Cloud Atlas" begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, "Cloud Atlas" is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. Praise for"Cloud Atlas" [David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel s every page. "The New York Times Book Review" One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is and should be read by any student of contemporary literature. Dave Eggers Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative. "People" The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I ve never read anything quite like it, and I m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds. Michael Chabon "Cloud Atlas"ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent. "The Washington Post Book World" Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in"Cloud Atlas"is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step. "Boston Sunday Globe" Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate. "Los Angeles Times" "From the Hardcover edition.""

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of "The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, "and" Ghostwritten." Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by "Time" in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell translated from the Japanese the internationally bestselling memoir "The Reason I Jump." He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children. "From the Hardcover edition."

Review quote

"Cloud Atlas is, obviously, a formidable creation. . . . Fellow novelists will find it hard not to heap . . . praise on David Mitchell, whose brilliance takes one's breath away in a manner not unlike a first experience of Chartres or the Duomo." --"The Globe and Mail ""Cloud Atlas is a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative." --"People" "Mitchell's range is astonishing, moving effortlessly from elegant genre fiction to satire to high-end literary pyrotechnics....to Mitchell -- prodigiously skilled and gloriously ambitious -- I can only say, bravo!" --"Toronto Star ""Cloud Atlas""imposes a dizzying series of milieus, characters and conflicts upon us . . . [and] feels like a doggedly expert gloss on various writers and modes." --"The New York Times" "Audacious, dazzling.... Readers who enjoy the 'novel as puzzle' will find much to savor in this original and occasionally very entertaining work." --"Publishers Weekly ""The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet -- not "just" dazzling, amusing or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds, which are all one world, which is, in turn, enchanted by Mitchell's spell-caster prose, our own." --Michael Chabon Advance UK reviews for "Cloud Atlas" "the third novel from the genre-busting David Mitchell, author of""Ghostwritten and the Booker-shortlisted Number9Dream is a remarkable book, made up of six resonating strands; the narrative reaches back into the 19th century, to colonialism and savagery in the Pacific islands, and forwards into a dark future, beyond the collapse of civilisation. It knits together science fiction, political thriller and historical pastiche with musical virtuosity and linguistic exuberance: there won't be a bigger, bolder novel next year." --Justine Jordan, " Guardian," Preview o

Flap copy

From David Mitchell, the Booker Prize nominee, award-winning writer and one of the featured authors in "Granta's "Best of Young British Novelists 2003" issue, comes his highly anticipated third novel, a work of mind-bending imagination and scope. A reluctant voyager crossing the Pacific in 1850; a disinherited composer blagging a precarious livelihood in between-the-wars Belgium; a high-minded journalist in Governor Reagan's California; a vanity publisher fleeing his gangland creditors; a genetically modified "dinery server" on death-row; and Zachry, a young Pacific Islander witnessing the nightfall of science and civilisation -- the narrators of Cloud Atlas hear each other's echoes down the corridor of history, and their destinies are changed in ways great and small. In his captivating third novel, David Mitchell erases the boundaries of language, genre and time to offer a meditation on humanity's dangerous will to power, and where it may lead us.