Charles I: A Life of Religion, War and Treason

Charles I: A Life of Religion, War and Treason


By (author) Christopher Hibbert, Foreword by David Starkey

List price $26.50
You save $10.37 39% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Palgrave MacMillan
  • Format: Paperback | 304 pages
  • Dimensions: 135mm x 206mm x 25mm | 249g
  • Publication date: 16 June 2007
  • Publication City/Country: Gordonsville
  • ISBN 10: 140398378X
  • ISBN 13: 9781403983787
  • Edition: 2
  • Edition statement: 2nd edition
  • Sales rank: 266,685

Product description

When Charles Stuart was a young child, it seemed unlikely that he would survive, let alone become ruler of England and Scotland. Once shy and retiring, an awkward stutterer, he grew in stature and confidence under the guidance of the Duke of Buckingham; his marriage to Henrietta of Spain, originally planned to end the conflict between the two nations, became, after rocky beginnings, a true love match. Charles I is best remembered for having started the English Civil War in 1642 which led to his execution for treason, the end of the monarchy, and the establishment of a commonwealth until monarchy was restored in 1660. Hibbert's masterful biography re-creates the world of Charles I, his court, artistic patronage, and family life, while tracing the course of events that led to his execution for treason in 1649.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Christopher Hibbert, "a pearl of biographers" ("New Statesman), " is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and the author of "Disraeli " (Palgrave Macmillan), "The Rise and Fall of the House of Medici, " "The English: A Social History, "and "Cavaliers and Roundheads." He lives in Oxfordshire, England.

Review quote

"An excellent account...balanced and perceptive in outlook...well-written and entertaining."--"Economist"

Table of contents

The Child and His Parents: 1600-16 The Prince and the Courtiers: 1617-22 Sweet Boys and Ventrous Knights: 1623 The Husband and His Wife: 1624-6 Devils and Martyrs: 1627-9 The Patron and His Artists: 1625-41 Politics and Puritans: 1629-40 Parliament and Traitors: 1640-2 Cavaliers and Roundheads: 1642-7 The Prisoner and His Captors: 1647-9