Chaos
28%
off

Chaos : Making a New Science

By (author) James Gleick

US$15.05US$21.00

You save US$5.95

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory National bestsellerMore than a million copies sold A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick s groundbreaking bestseller "Chaos "introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In "Chaos," Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe."

show more
  • Paperback | 360 pages
  • 152.4 x 226.06 x 38.1mm | 272.15g
  • 01 Sep 2008
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY
  • English
  • 20th
  • colour illustrations, figures
  • 0143113453
  • 9780143113454
  • 36,452

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for "The New York Times," founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including "The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood," which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives inKey West and New York."

show more

Review quote

Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt. "The New York Times" Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes. "The New York Times Book Review" Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws. "Chicago Tribune" An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch. Douglas Adams, author of "The Hitchhiker s Guide to the Galaxy" "Chaos" is a feast. "The Washington Post Book World""

show more