• Chaos: Making a New Science See large image

    Chaos: Making a New Science (Paperback) By (author) James Gleick

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $14.81 - Save $5.19 25% off - RRP $20.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionThe million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory National bestsellerMore than a million copies sold A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller "Chaos "introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In "Chaos," Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Chaos

    Title
    Chaos
    Subtitle
    Making a New Science
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) James Gleick
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 360
    Width: 152 mm
    Height: 226 mm
    Thickness: 38 mm
    Weight: 272 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780143113454
    ISBN 10: 0143113453
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: MAT
    B&T Book Type: NF
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: S7.0
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    Ingram Subject Code: SE
    Libri: I-SE
    B&T Merchandise Category: SCI
    B&T General Subject: 710
    LC subject heading:
    BIC subject category V2: PBWS, GPFC
    B&T Approval Code: A53205500
    BISAC V2.8: SCI012000
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 26470
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 003.857, 003/.857
    DC21: 003.857
    BISAC V2.8: SCI064000
    LC classification: Q172.5.C45 G54 2008
    LC subject heading:
    Edition
    20
    Edition statement
    20th
    Illustrations note
    colour illustrations, figures
    Publisher
    Penguin Putnam Inc
    Imprint name
    Penguin USA
    Publication date
    01 September 2008
    Publication City/Country
    New York, NY
    Author Information
    James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for "The New York Times," founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including "The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood," which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives in Key West and New York.
    Review quote
    " Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt." --"The New York Times" " Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes." --"The New York Times Book Review" " Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws." --"Chicago Tribune" " An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch." --Douglas Adams, author of "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" ""Chaos" is a feast." --"The Washington Post Book World"