Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science

Paperback

By (author) James Gleick

$14.70
List price $19.99
You save $5.29 26% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Format: Paperback | 360 pages
  • Dimensions: 152mm x 226mm x 38mm | 272g
  • Publication date: 1 September 2008
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 0143113453
  • ISBN 13: 9780143113454
  • Edition: 20
  • Edition statement: 20th
  • Illustrations note: colour illustrations, figures
  • Sales rank: 32,589

Product description

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory National bestsellerMore than a million copies sold A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller "Chaos "introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In "Chaos," Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10
Categories:

Author information

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for "The New York Times," founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including "The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood," which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives in Key West and New York.

Review quote

" Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt." --"The New York Times" " Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes." --"The New York Times Book Review" " Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws." --"Chicago Tribune" " An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch." --Douglas Adams, author of "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" ""Chaos" is a feast." --"The Washington Post Book World"