• A Certain Smile See large image

    A Certain Smile (Paperback) By (author) Francoise Sagan, By (author) Franoise Sagan, Translated by Anne Green

    $9.95 - Save $4.05 28% off - RRP $14.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionFrancoise Sagan is best known for her first novel, "Bonjour Tristesse," which caused a scandal when she first published it at the age of eighteen in 1953. But her second novel, "A Certain Smile," less shocking and more psychologically convincing, was preferred by many critics. Like "Bonjour Tristesse," this story is set in Paris in the 1950s and told by a young student bored by her law books, restless and curious about love and sex. She is fond of her loyal boyfriend, but he, too, bores her. His worldly uncle strikes her as more exciting, appealingly risky and forbidden. Frank and spontaneous, vulnerable and cruel, thoughtless and insightful, Sagan's young narrator explores such perennial themes as unrequited love and the precarious balance of irrational emotions and self-restraint.This edition includes a new foreword by Diane Johnson, author of the best-selling novels "Le Divorce "and "L'Affaire." "The second book is now out, and so is the verdict. Sagan's novel "Un Certain Sourire," written in two months, is the new literary sensation of Paris."--"Time" "Miss Sagan is a technician of the highest order, working with exceptional economy and elegance in the tradition of Colette and Benjamin Constant."--"Atlantic" "The reader is given the feeling of having opened a young girl's intimate diary by mistake. But whoever put such a diary down?--especially when the author is as sensitive, experienced, gifted and freshly talented as Mlle. Sagan!"--"San Francisco Examiner" "[Sagan's] style is honest, direct, and her dialogue true. But for her sake let's hold back those invidious comparisons. Colette indeed! She might turn out to be Sagan."--"Saturday Review"


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for A Certain Smile

    Title
    A Certain Smile
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Francoise Sagan, By (author) Franoise Sagan, Translated by Anne Green
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 136
    Width: 132 mm
    Height: 201 mm
    Thickness: 15 mm
    Weight: 181 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780226733470
    ISBN 10: 0226733475
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    DC22: FIC
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    DC21: 843.914
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 01
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 05
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 21110
    Ingram Subject Code: FC
    Libri: I-FC
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 74
    B&T Merchandise Category: UP
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 17
    DC22: 843/.914
    LC classification: PQ2633.U74 C413 2011
    BISAC V2.8: FIC019000
    Edition statement
    Reprint
    Publisher
    University of Chicago Press
    Imprint name
    University of Chicago Press
    Publication date
    15 October 2011
    Publication City/Country
    Chicago, IL
    Author Information
    Francoise Sagan (1935-2004) was a French playwright, screenwriter and novelist whose works have been translated into many languages. She is the author of several books, including "That Mad Ache" and "Bonjour Tristesse," for which she gained quick literary stardom upon publishing at the age of eighteen.