A Certain Smile

A Certain Smile

By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Francoise Sagan is best known for her first novel, "Bonjour Tristesse," which caused a scandal when she first published it at the age of eighteen in 1953. But her second novel, "A Certain Smile," less shocking and more psychologically convincing, was preferred by many critics. Like "Bonjour Tristesse," this story is set in Paris in the 1950s andtold by ayoung student bored by herlaw books, restless and curious about love and sex. She is fond of her loyalboyfriend, but he, too, bores her.His worldly unclestrikes her asmore exciting, appealingly risky and forbidden.Frank and spontaneous, vulnerable and cruel, thoughtless and insightful, Sagan's young narrator explores such perennial themes as unrequited love and the precarious balance of irrational emotions and self-restraint.This edition includes a new foreword by Diane Johnson, author of the best-selling novels "Le Divorce "and "L Affaire." The second book is now out, and so is the verdict. Sagan s novel "Un Certain Sourire," written in two months, is the new literary sensation of Paris. "Time" Miss Sagan is a technician of the highest order, working with exceptional economy and elegance in the tradition of Colette and Benjamin Constant. "Atlantic" The reader is given the feeling of having opened a young girl s intimate diary by mistake. But whoever put such a diary down? especially when the author is as sensitive, experienced, gifted and freshly talented as Mlle. Sagan! "San Francisco Examiner" [Sagan s] style is honest, direct, and her dialogue true. But for her sake let s hold back those invidious comparisons. Colette indeed! She might turn out to be Sagan. "Saturday Review""show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 136 pages
  • 132.08 x 200.66 x 15.24mm | 181.44g
  • University of Chicago Press
  • Chicago, IL, United States
  • English
  • Revised ed.
  • black & white illustrations
  • 0226733475
  • 9780226733470
  • 178,335

About Francoise Sagan

Francoise Sagan (1935 2004) was a French playwright, screenwriter and novelist whose works have been translated into many languages. She is the author of several books, including "That Mad Ache" and "Bonjour Tristesse," for which she gained quick literary stardom upon publishing at the age of eighteen."show more