Catch-22
18%
off

Catch-22

By (author) , Introduction by

US$16.72US$20.56

You save US$3.84

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day

When will my order arrive?

Description

A burlesque epic in the tradition of The Good Soldier Schweik, Catch-22 exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. With a cast of magnificently larger-than-life characters who are rushed along at a breathless pace, for once this really is a novel it's hard to put down. Catch-22 was made into a film.

show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 569 pages
  • 138 x 204 x 36mm | 680.39g
  • Everyman
  • EVERYMAN'S LIBRARY
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1857152204
  • 9781857152203
  • 70,580

Review Text

The phrase, now maddeningly misused by politicians and DJs alike, came from this wonderfully dark and cynical anti-war novel of the 1960s. (Catch-22 states that a man can be exempted from bombing missions if he is mad; but that the desire to be exempted is proof that he is sane.) The novel is as funny as it is bitter and no-one growing up through the Falklands and Gulf conflicts will fail to see the point. (Kirkus UK)

show more