• Carrie's War See large image

    Carrie's War (Paperback) By (author) Nina Bawden, Illustrated by Faith Jaques

    Unavailable

    Sorry we can't get this title, the button below links through to AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window).

    Try AbeBooks | Add to wishlist
    Also available in...
    Paperback $8.22

    Description"Carrie's War" by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story "Carrie's War" has delighted readers for almost 40 years. "Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children". ("Daily Telegraph"). Perfect for fans of "Goodnight Mister Tom" by Michelle Magorian. Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - "Carrie's War" is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for "The Peppermint Pig".


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Carrie's War

    Title
    Carrie's War
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Nina Bawden, Illustrated by Faith Jaques
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 208
    Width: 126 mm
    Height: 196 mm
    Thickness: 16 mm
    Weight: 82 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780140306897
    ISBN 10: 0140306897
    Classifications

    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: Y2.1
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: ADV
    DC21: 823.914
    BIC E4L: F9+
    BIC reading level and special interest qualifier V2: 5AK
    BIC children’s book marketing category: D3N79
    DC22: FIC
    LC subject heading:
    BIC subject category V2: YFC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 22500
    Libri: B-129, B-085
    BISAC V2.8: JUV030050
    LC classification: PZ7.B33, PZ7.B33 CAR5
    Thema V1.0: YFC
    Publisher
    Penguin Books Ltd
    Imprint name
    Puffin Books
    Publication date
    01 June 1975
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.
    Review text
    The stingy fundamentalist shopkeeper Mr. Evans and his timid sister Aunt Lou provide a secure if spartan existence for youngsters Carrie and Nick during their time as evacuees from wartorn London. And for warmth and good food, there was always their treasured visits to the kitchen at Druid's Bottom, where the witch-wise servant woman Hepzibah cared for Mr. Evans' senile sister Dilys Gotobed, for mute and retarded Mr. Johnny and for fellow evacuee Albert Sandwich. Years later as she recalls these scenes for her children, Carrie is still haunted by the fear that her spiteful defiance of an old superstition may have caused the conflagration at Druid's Bottom that she glimpsed from a train window on the day of her departure. And she remembers the time when everyone believed that by confiding in Mr. Evans, for whom she alone felt pity, she had helped rob Hepzibah of her rightful inheritance. The murky atmosphere of the eccentric country household and the nitpicking routines dictated by Mr. Evans' compulsive thrift are adroitly contrasted, but the real reward is Carrie's insight into the loneliness of an unsympathetic old man. The realities of chilblains and fried bread in a Welsh mining town and the mysteries of that remembered "dark green, silent place" in the valley overgrown by yew trees are fused into a story of hushed suspense and emotional complexity. (Kirkus Reviews)