• Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End See large image

    Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End (Call the Midwife) (Paperback) By (author) Jennifer Worth, Edited by Terri Coates

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $12.70 - Save $3.28 20% off - RRP $15.98 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionThe last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the MidwifeWhen twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty--unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease--and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Call the Midwife, Volume 3

    Title
    Call the Midwife, Volume 3
    Subtitle
    Farewell to the East End
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Jennifer Worth, Edited by Terri Coates
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 321
    Width: 124 mm
    Height: 201 mm
    Thickness: 23 mm
    Weight: 476 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780062270061
    ISBN 10: 0062270060
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: BIO
    BIC subject category V2: BGA
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.0A
    BIC subject category V2: JFSJ1, MBD
    B&T General Subject: 170
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    Ingram Subject Code: BA
    Libri: I-BA
    DC22: B
    BISAC V2.8: BIO022000
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: TP090
    Ingram Theme: SEXL/FEMINE
    BISAC V2.8: BIO017000
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 26920
    BIC subject category V2: BGTA
    BISAC V2.8: BIO026000, SOC028000
    DC22: 618.20092
    LC subject heading: , , , , ,
    DC21: 618.20092
    LC subject heading:
    LC classification: RG950 .W676 2013
    BISAC region code: 1.1.2.2.0.0.0
    Thema V1.0: DNC, DNB, JBSF1, DNBT
    Edition statement
    Reprint
    Publisher
    Ecco Press
    Imprint name
    Ecco Press
    Publication date
    12 March 2013
    Publication City/Country
    New York