• Burial Rites See large image

    Burial Rites (Hardback) By (author) Hannah Kent

    04

    $20.84 - Save $0.07 - RRP $20.91 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $17.40
    CD-Audio $22.60

    DescriptionIn northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover. Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed. Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Reviews for Burial Rites

Write a review
  • Thoroughly enjoyed it :)4

    mercedes mills If you're looking for a book that combines beautiful, poetic writing with a fast paced, easy read then buy this book - in fact even if you're not still buy it! It's amazing!!

    I read this book in two sittings but I wish I could of devoured it in one. It was such a page turner and by the second page I was irreversibly hooked. It is packed full of beautiful, quotable prose that I couldn't stop rereading. One of my favourite things about the book was the way that Iceland and it's geography and weather became a character in itself. The whole book felt bleak and cold just like the landscape.

    I really enjoyed the way this story was told through a mixture of first and third person narrative. It worked perfectly and flowed seamlessly.

    I won't tell you much of the plot as I think it is a book that works well not knowing much before you go in. That's how I experienced it anyway. All you need to know is that it is based on a real historical event yet captures for the first time the essence of Agnes Magn�?�?�?�ºsd�?�?�?�³ttir - the last person in Iceland given execution as a punishment for their crime. by mercedes mills

Write a review
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results