The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

CD-Audio

By (author) Daniel James Brown, Read by Edward Herrmann

$34.32
List price $49.96
You save $15.64 31% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $21.74
Paperback $13.11
  • Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
  • Format: CD-Audio | 12 pages
  • Dimensions: 135mm x 147mm x 38mm | 295g
  • Publication date: 4 June 2013
  • ISBN 10: 1611761697
  • ISBN 13: 9781611761696
  • Edition: Unabridged
  • Edition statement: Unabridged
  • Sales rank: 184,945

Product description

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken," the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics " "Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together--a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, "The Boys in the Boat "is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's "The Amateurs."

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10
Categories:

Author information

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, "The Indifferent Stars Above" and "Under a Flaming Sky, "which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award."" He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.