• The Book of Unholy Mischief

    The Book of Unholy Mischief (Black Swan) (Paperback) By (author) Elle Newmark

    Unavailable

    Sorry we can't get this title, the button below links through to AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window).

    Try AbeBooks | Add to wishlist

    DescriptionA beautifully written, fiendishly well-plotted commercial debut, perfect for fans of Joanne Harris. It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power. Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, leading him through a perilous maze that will test his deepest desires and loyalties.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Book of Unholy Mischief

    Title
    The Book of Unholy Mischief
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Elle Newmark
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 464
    Width: 111 mm
    Height: 178 mm
    Thickness: 33 mm
    Weight: 227 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780552775991
    ISBN 10: 0552775991
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    BIC subject category V2: FV, FA
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 21200
    Libri: ENGM1014, AMER3725, VENE3080
    BISAC V2.8: FIC000000, FIC014000
    Edition statement
    Export ed
    Publisher
    Transworld Publishers Ltd
    Imprint name
    Black Swan
    Publication date
    10 September 2009
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Review quote
    "Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" Fanny Blake, Woman & Home "'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'" New Books Magazine "It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention" Kirkus Reviews, US