The Book of Unholy Mischief

The Book of Unholy Mischief

  • Paperback
By (author) Elle Newmark

List price: US$12.32

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

A beautifully written, fiendishly well-plotted commercial debut, perfect for fans of Joanne Harris. It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power. Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, leading him through a perilous maze that will test his deepest desires and loyalties.

show more
  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 111 x 178 x 31mm | 316g
  • 10 Sep 2009
  • Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Black Swan
  • London
  • Export ed
  • 0552775991
  • 9780552775991
  • 1,071,653

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" Fanny Blake, Woman & Home "'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'" New Books Magazine "It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention" Kirkus Reviews, US

show more