The Book of Unholy Mischief

The Book of Unholy Mischief

Paperback Black Swan

By (author) Elle Newmark

List price $12.55

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

  • Publisher: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback | 464 pages
  • Dimensions: 111mm x 178mm x 33mm | 227g
  • Publication date: 10 September 2009
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0552775991
  • ISBN 13: 9780552775991
  • Edition statement: Export ed
  • Sales rank: 1,021,551

Product description

A beautifully written, fiendishly well-plotted commercial debut, perfect for fans of Joanne Harris. It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power. Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, leading him through a perilous maze that will test his deepest desires and loyalties.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Review quote

"Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" Fanny Blake, Woman & Home "'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'" New Books Magazine "It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention" Kirkus Reviews, US