The Book of Unholy Mischief

The Book of Unholy Mischief

By (author) 

List price: US$12.64

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the labyrinthine city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power. Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, even suspecting the chef, his maestro, may be concealing valuable information. But lurking in the wings are some of the most powerful, dangerous men in Venice, and Luciano's secret will lead him through a perilous maze to the centre of an intrigue that will test his deepest desires and more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 27mm | 312g
  • Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Black Swan
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0552775215
  • 9780552775212
  • 197,400

Review quote

"Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" Fanny Blake, Woman & Home "'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'" New Books Magazine "It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention" Kirkus Reviews, USshow more

About Elle Newmark

Elle Newmark lives in the hills north of San Diego, California. Her father, the chef who inspired her book, lives next door. He's 90 year's old, and still cooking. This is her first novel and she is currently writing her more

Review Text

"Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" Fanny Blake, Woman & Homeshow more

Customer reviews

The setting of 15th century venice with it's varied and colourful characters. Traders, merchants, sailors, chefs, thieves, vagabonds,and whores, All go to make this an enjoyable more
by charlie lee