The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow

The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow

Paperback

By (author) Andy Griffiths, Illustrated by Terry Denton

$7.33
List price $7.98
You save $0.65 (8%)

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $16.56
CD-Audio $12.84
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Format: Paperback | 123 pages
  • Dimensions: 147mm x 224mm x 13mm | 181g
  • Publication date: 31 August 2010
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 0312653018
  • ISBN 13: 9780312653019
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations
  • Sales rank: 1,681

Product description

Look inside! This book has a mouse with a house, and a mole in a hole, and a squirmy worm, and a spiky bike. And, of course, it has a big fat cow that goes 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 . . . KAPOW!

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Andy Griffiths is the "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Day My Butt Went Psycho!," "Zombie Butts from Uranus!," "Butt Wars! The Final Conflict," and "The Cat on the Mat Is Flat." In 2007, he became the first Australian author to win six children's choice awards in one year for "Just Shocking!" He is passionate about inspiring a love of books in his young readers, and works as an ambassador for the Indigenous Literacy Project, which provides books and literacy resources to remote indigenous communities around Australia. Andy is a big fan of Dr. Seuss and of cauliflower. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, and is Australia's most popular children's writer.Terry Denton is known for his humorous illustration style and has worked with Andy on the "Just!" books and "The Cat on the Mat is Flat," among others. He lives by the sea in Australia with his wife, three kids, and a pop-up toaster that only toasts on one side.

Review quote

Praise for "The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow" A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best "Broad slapstick humor and galloping, Seuss-like rhymes are just part of the reason this sequel to "The Cat on the Mat Is Flat" has strong child appeal. Denton's funny illustrations are full of action, and his use of stick figures and stink lines makes the book look as though it had been illustrated by a cheeky but talented kid." --"School Library Journal," starred review "Early, emerging, reluctant, and accomplished readers alike are certain to enjoy this hilarious, easy to read book chock-full of whacky, slapstick rhyme. Perfectly complemented with zany black-and-white illustrations, kids will gobble-up these 10 short stories. . . . Full of humor, fun, and an easy format that builds reading confidence, this selection is irresistible."--"Herald Tribune" (Sarasota, FL) Praise for "The Cat on The Mat Is Flat" "Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly" "Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog) "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family." --"Kirkus Reviews" "This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews