Awakened

Awakened

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Perfect for fans of J. R. Ward, Nalini Singh, and Lara Adrian, "New York Times "and "USA Today "bestselling author Virna DePaul's thrilling series of paranormal romances invites readers into a seductive and dangerous world where vampires secretly exist among the general population, while the FBI tries to keep the Rogues among them from preying on humans--for killing, for turning, for pleasure. Ex-soldier Barrett Miles had no idea that vampires were real--until Belladonna recruits her to serve as a covert agent and infiltrate a murderous sex ring run by the most depraved of immortals, those who feed on the purity and blood of innocents. Their latest victim: a young girl whom Barrett promised to protect. She will be sold--unless Barrett can find her first. Forced to team up with her former lover, Nick Maltese, an undercover sniper, Barrett is caught between fulfilling her personal mission and shielding her heart from the man who betrayed her. Nick's hunting a new breed of vampires and harboring a terrible secret when Barrett finds him. Soon a seething underworld of strange desires threatens to engulf them all. Can he save the girl and reclaim Barrett's heart? Nick knows he has only one chance to prove himself to her as the hunt begins--and their love forces them to embrace the darkest places in their souls. Praise for "Awakened" " " "Barrett and Nick's electrifying chemistry, coupled with a clever and intricate plot, makes this one amazing read."--"RT Book Reviews" "A nifty romantic suspense to sink your teeth into."--"Fresh Fiction" "One for re-reading and keeper files."--Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews "Virna DePaul did an amazing job."--Smitten with Reading "I am more than satisfied. Between the great character and good plot, a paranormal romance fan couldn't do any better."--The Jeep Diva Praise for Virnia DePaul's "Turned" " " "A captivating start to a fascinating new series with a hero that's to die for."--Bestselling author Rhyannon Byrd "If you're looking for a hot, sexy, emotional read, Virna DePaul delivers!"--"New York Times "and "USA Today "bestselling author J. Kenner "Virna DePaul creates yummy alpha heroes."--"New York Times" bestselling author Tina Folsom "With "Turned, "Virna DePaul delivers a sexy and exciting new take on the vampire novel, one that comes complete with a kick-ass heroine and a to-die-for hero. I can't wait for the sequel!"--Tracy Wolff, bestselling author of "Ruined" ""Turned "is intense, intricate, and insomnia-inducing (plan to stay up way too late!). Virna DePaul puts the awesome in the awesomesauce of paranormal romance."--Joyce Lamb, curator, "USA Today"'s "Happy Ever After"show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 106.68 x 165.1 x 27.94mm | 158.76g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Bantam Dell Publishing Group, Div of Random House, Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0345542479
  • 9780345542472
  • 614,199

Review quote

Praise for "Awakened" " " "Barrett and Nick's electrifying chemistry, coupled with a clever and intricate plot, makes this one amazing read."--"RT Book Reviews" "A nifty romantic suspense to sink your teeth into."--"Fresh Fiction" "One for re-reading and keeper files."--Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews "Virna DePaul did an amazing job."--Smitten with Reading "I am more than satisfied. Between the great character and good plot, a paranormal romance fan couldn't do any better."--The Jeep Diva Praise for Virnia DePaul's "Turned" " " "A captivating start to a fascinating new series with a hero that's to die for."--Bestselling author Rhyannon Byrd "If you're looking for a hot, sexy, emotional read, Virna DePaul delivers!"--"New York Times "and "USA Today "bestselling author J. Kenner "With "Turned, "Virna DePaul delivers a sexy and exciting new take on the vampire novel, one that comes complete with a kick-ass heroine and a to-die-for hero. I can't wait for the sequel!"--Tracy Wolff, bestselling author of "Ruined" ""Turned "is intense, intricate, and insomnia-inducing (plan to stay up way too late!). Virna DePaul puts the awesome in the awesomesauce of paranormal romance."--Joyce Lamb, curator, "USA Today"'s "Happy Ever After" "Virna DePaul creates yummy alpha heroes."--"New York Times" bestselling author Tina Folsomshow more

About Virna Depaul

"New York Times "and "USA Today "bestselling author Virna DePaul is a former criminal prosecutor and bestselling author of steamy, suspenseful fiction. Whether featuring vampires, a Para-Ops team, hot cops, or swoon-worthy identical twin brothers, her stories center on complex individuals willing to overcome incredible odds for love.show more

Customer reviews

Belladonna agent Barrett Miles will have to team up with her former lover Nick Maltese in order to infiltrate a vampire sex slave ring and find a young girl Barrett promised to protect in this riveting paranormal romance. This steady to fast paced plot keeps readers shivering in anticipation with lots of suspense, action and romance. The well orchestrated suspense scenes intrigue the reader and builds up curiosity and spine tingling thrills as Barrett and Nick work to discover who is behind the sex slave ring and just where their base of operations is. The author brings the story to life with well written scenes and details that capture the imagination and the characters are strong, compelling and draw the reader deeper into the story. The attraction Barrett feels for Nick is still as strong as ever and Nick is determined to reclaim her heart with red hot seduction, but Barrett has some personal issues that she has to deal with. The reader can’t help but get caught up in all the drama and excitement as their different agendas clash, but they soon discover that somebody’s not telling them everything, which pushes them closer together. The danger escalates as they go in under cover at a new club that is opening adding to the thrills and the scenes are believable and make the reader feel like if they are right there with the characters. I was completely engrossed in the story and the fascinating world that the author has created, there are hidden agendas and secrets to keep the reader’s guessing and I can’t wait to read the next one - too bad I have to wait so long…right?show more
by Eva Millien