• The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society See large image

    The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society (Hardback) By (author) Darien Gee

    Currently unavailable

    We can notify you when this item is back in stock

    | Add to wishlist

    OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window).

    Try AbeBooks
    Also available in...
    Hardback $34.94
    CD-Audio $33.91

    DescriptionPerfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Kristin Hannah, Beth Hoffman, and Kate Jacobs, this luminous novel from the author of "Friendship Bread "follows""a group of fascinating women who form deep friendships through their love of scrapbooking--as memories are preserved, dreams are shared, and surprising truths are revealed. Welcome to Avalon, Illinois, Pop. 4,243 At Madeline's Tea Salon, the cozy hub of the Avalon community, local residents scrapbook their memories and make new ones. But across town, other Avalonians are struggling to free themselves of the past: Isabel Kidd is fixing up her ramshackle house while sorting through the complications of her late husband's affair. Ava Catalina is mourning the love of her life and helping her young son grow up without his father. Local plumber Yvonne Tate is smart, beautiful, and new to Avalon, but finds that despite a decade of living life on her own terms, the past has a way of catching up--no matter where she goes. And Frances Latham, mother to a boisterous brood of boys, eagerly anticipates the arrival of a little girl from China--unprepared for the emotional roller coaster of foreign adoption. Enter Bettie Shelton, the irascible founder of the Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society. Under Bettie's guidance, even the most reluctant of Avalon's residents come to terms with their past and make bold decisions about their future. But when the group receives unexpected news about their steadfast leader, they must pull together to create something truly memorable. By turns humorous, wise, and deeply moving, "The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society" is a luminous reminder that the things we hold most dear will last a lifetime. "In a gathering of women there will always be compelling stories. Throw in a love of craft and these stories take on a whole new dynamic. There are shared secrets, support, encouragement, and love as the Avalon Ladies come to terms with the past and boldly step forward into the future."--#1 "New York Times" bestselling author Debbie Macomber


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society

    Title
    The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Darien Gee
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 426
    Width: 163 mm
    Height: 236 mm
    Thickness: 41 mm
    Weight: 680 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780345525376
    ISBN 10: 034552537X
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F2.5
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    BIC E4L: SAG
    DC22: FIC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    LC subject heading:
    DC21: 813.6
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 78
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    BIC subject category V2: FT
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: TP090
    Ingram Theme: SEXL/FEMINE
    Ingram Subject Code: FC
    Libri: I-FC
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 813/.6
    B&T Approval Code: P26300000
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: FIC044000
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: C5
    LC subject heading: ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC008000, FIC019000
    LC classification: PS3611.I5834 A94 2013
    Publisher
    Ballantine Books
    Imprint name
    Ballantine Books
    Publication date
    29 January 2013
    Author Information
    Darien Gee lives in Hawaii with her husband and their three children. She is also the author of "Friendship Bread."
    Review quote
    Praise for Darien Gee and "The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society " "In a gathering of women there will always be compelling stories. Throw in a love of craft and these stories take on a whole new dynamic. There are shared secrets, support, encouragement, and love as the Avalon Ladies come to terms with the past and boldly step forward into the future."--#1 "New York Times" bestselling author Debbie Macomber "There are many threads to this story (including a female plumber with a secret past), but, like a good scrapbooker, Gee puts them all together beautifully. Bettie is the glue that holds the residents of Avalon together--whether they like it or not--and as she seems to unravel, the town comes together. This funny, moving book is the follow-up to "Friendship Bread" (2011), although "The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society" can stand on its own. A welcome addition to any women's-fiction collection and a good choice for fans of Debbie Macomber's knitting series."--"Booklist" "A three-hanky nod to "It's a Wonderful Life." Gee--who also writes as Mia King ("Table Manners")--gets the unapologetically schmaltzy tone just right with the irresistible premise that we can love the impossible. A surefire book club hit." --"Publisher's Weekly" "In this exceptionally well-written novel you'll find heartwarming inspiration, humor, wisdom and endless charm ... This is one of those books you'll want to tell your friends about so you can talk about the antics and struggles that will stay in your heart long after the final page is turned. Gee is an author to keep a close eye on." --"RT Book Reviews " "Truly charming! You'll want to read and then immediately share with your best friends (and then start a scrapbooking society of your own!). Darien Gee writes about friendship and family with depth, grace and heart."--Sarah Jio, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Blackberry Winter" and "The Violets of March " "Darien Gee pieces toget