The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society

The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society

Hardback

By (author) Darien Gee

List price $26.00

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Format: Hardback | 426 pages
  • Dimensions: 163mm x 236mm x 41mm | 680g
  • Publication date: 29 January 2013
  • ISBN 10: 034552537X
  • ISBN 13: 9780345525376
  • Sales rank: 267,885

Product description

Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Kristin Hannah, Beth Hoffman, and Kate Jacobs, this luminous novel from the author of "Friendship Bread "follows""a group of fascinating women who form deep friendships through their love of scrapbooking--as memories are preserved, dreams are shared, and surprising truths are revealed. Welcome to Avalon, Illinois, Pop. 4,243 At Madeline's Tea Salon, the cozy hub of the Avalon community, local residents scrapbook their memories and make new ones. But across town, other Avalonians are struggling to free themselves of the past: Isabel Kidd is fixing up her ramshackle house while sorting through the complications of her late husband's affair. Ava Catalina is mourning the love of her life and helping her young son grow up without his father. Local plumber Yvonne Tate is smart, beautiful, and new to Avalon, but finds that despite a decade of living life on her own terms, the past has a way of catching up--no matter where she goes. And Frances Latham, mother to a boisterous brood of boys, eagerly anticipates the arrival of a little girl from China--unprepared for the emotional roller coaster of foreign adoption. Enter Bettie Shelton, the irascible founder of the Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society. Under Bettie's guidance, even the most reluctant of Avalon's residents come to terms with their past and make bold decisions about their future. But when the group receives unexpected news about their steadfast leader, they must pull together to create something truly memorable. By turns humorous, wise, and deeply moving, "The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society" is a luminous reminder that the things we hold most dear will last a lifetime. "In a gathering of women there will always be compelling stories. Throw in a love of craft and these stories take on a whole new dynamic. There are shared secrets, support, encouragement, and love as the Avalon Ladies come to terms with the past and boldly step forward into the future."--#1 "New York Times" bestselling author Debbie Macomber

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Darien Gee lives in Hawaii with her husband and their three children. She is also the author of "Friendship Bread."

Review quote

Praise for Darien Gee's "The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society "and "Friendship Bread" "In a gathering of women there will always be compelling stories. Throw in a love of craft and these stories take on a whole new dynamic. There are shared secrets, support, encouragement, and love as the Avalon Ladies come to terms with the past and boldly step forward into the future."--#1 "New York Times" bestselling author Debbie Macomber "You'll root all the way as these characters stumble toward forgiveness, understanding, and, ultimately, celebration. "Friendship Bread" is a perfect book club selection."--Kate Jacobs, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Friday Night Knitting Club" "With heart and soul, Darien Gee has crafted a charming story of love, friendship, tragedy, and the surprising ways healing weaves its way through a small town."--Beth Hoffman, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt" "Comforting, warm, and delicious."--Jane Green, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Another Piece of My Heart" "A vivid, tender portrait of friends, a window onto the intricacies of friendship itself."--Luanne Rice, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Little Night" "Truly charming! You'll want to read and then immediately share with your best friends (and then start a scrapbooking society of your own!). Darien Gee writes about friendship and family with depth, grace and heart."--Sarah Jio, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Blackberry Winter "and" The Violets of March" "Darien Gee pieces together lives and scraps with the skill and heart of a true storyteller. The ladies of Avalon will have you calling your sisters and girlfriends to share old memories and make new ones. I loved it!"--Lisa Wingate, bestselling author of "Dandelion Summer "and" Blue Moon Bay"