• Arabian Sands See large image

    Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics) (Paperback) By (author) Wilfred Thesiger, Introduction by Rory Stewart

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $12.94 - Save $3.26 20% off - RRP $16.20 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionWilfred Thesiger was born in Addis Ababa in 1910 and educated at Eton and Oxford. Though British, he was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life, "the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets, etc." In the spirit of T.E. Lawrence, Thesiger spent five years exploring and wandering the deserts of Arabia. With vivid descriptions and colorful anecdotes he narrates his stories, including two crossings of the Empty Quarter, among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Arabian Sands

    Title
    Arabian Sands
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Wilfred Thesiger, Introduction by Rory Stewart
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 368
    Width: 128 mm
    Height: 196 mm
    Thickness: 26 mm
    Weight: 299 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780141442075
    ISBN 10: 0141442077
    Classifications

    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: TRV
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T8.5
    BIC subject category V2: WTL
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 03
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    DC22: B
    BIC geographical qualifier V2: 1FBX
    LC subject heading:
    B&T General Subject: 800
    B&T Merchandise Category: TVL
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 94
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: ET190
    Ingram Subject Code: TT
    Ingram Theme: CULT/SCANDN
    Abridged Dewey: 910
    LC classification: G
    BISAC V2.8: TRV010000
    Ingram Theme: APPR/RDRCAT
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: ET135
    Ingram Theme: CULT/MIDEST
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 47
    BISAC V2.8: HIS026000
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 07
    B&T Approval Code: A19242000, A15301000
    BISAC V2.8: TRV015000, BIO026000
    Libri: ENGM5400
    LC subject heading:
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 23640
    DC22: 915.30452
    Libri: ARAB6080
    BIC subject category V2: 1FBX
    Thema V1.0: WTL
    Edition statement
    Reissue
    Illustrations note
    black & white illustrations
    Publisher
    Penguin Books Ltd
    Imprint name
    PENGUIN CLASSICS
    Publication date
    02 January 2008
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Sir Wilfred Patrick Thesiger (1910-2003) was a British travel writer born in Addis Ababa in Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Thesiger is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959), which recounts his travels in the Empty Quarter of Arabia between 1945 and 1950 and describes the vanishing way of life of the Bedouins, and The Marsh Arabs (1964), an account of the traditional peoples who lived in the marshlands of southern Iraq. Rory Stewart served briefly in the British Army and then as a diplomat in Jakarta and Montenegro. In August 2000 he resigned from the Foreign Office and began walking from Turkey towards Vietnam. His book about the walk, The Places In Between (2004), was a critically applauded account of his experiences in Afghanistan. His second book, The Prince of the Marshes: And Other Occupational Hazards of a Year in Iraq (2006), outlines his experiences as deputy governor of the Iraqi province of Maysan and Senior Advisor in the city of Nasiriyah shortly after coalition forces entered Iraq and describes his struggles to establish a functional government in these regions. Stewart has been awarded the OBE. Stewart currently lives in Kabul, Afghanistan.
    Review quote
    "Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." -"The Daily Telegraph", London "The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." -"The Sunday Times", London