Arabian Sands

Arabian Sands

By (author)

List price: US$16.71

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

"Arabian Sands" is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life-"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.

show more
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 20mm | 258.55g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • LondonUnited Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • illustrations, maps, index
  • 0140095144
  • 9780140095142
  • 869,048

Other books in Travel Writing

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." -"The Daily Telegraph", London "The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." -"The Sunday Times", London

show more

Reviews from