Arabian Sands

Arabian Sands

Paperback

By (author) Wilfred Thesiger

List price $16.92

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $12.64
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Format: Paperback | 352 pages
  • Dimensions: 127mm x 205mm x 19mm | 272g
  • Publication date: 1 February 1985
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0140095144
  • ISBN 13: 9780140095142
  • Edition: New edition
  • Edition statement: New edition
  • Illustrations note: illustrations, maps, index
  • Sales rank: 831,220

Product description

"Arabian Sands" is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life-"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Review quote

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." -"The Daily Telegraph", London "The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." -"The Sunday Times", London

Editorial reviews

To call this a travel book is a vast understatement. Far more than a simple record of a journey, it is a chronicle of a people enduring the harshest desert environment on earth. Thesiger's classic narrative, first published in 1959, tells of the seven years he spent living with the Bedouin in southern Arabia. Shortly before the region's face was changed for ever by the discovery of oil, Arabian Sands records Thesiger's two treacherous journeys across Rub 'al Khali, the 'Empty Quarter'. Recording the indomitable Bedouin's senses of honour and chivalry, Thesiger captures the spirit of a people which had so entranced Lawrence and Doughty before him, writing beautifully of his own journeys through Arabia as perhaps the last Briton to feel the spirit of the land. Review By Tahir Shah (Kirkus UK)