An American Spy

An American Spy

By (author)

List price: US$10.74

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

World-class spy fiction for a post 9/11 age, starring a black-ops agent to rival Bauer or Bourne. Le Carre may have owned the Cold War, but modern espionage belongs to Olen Steinhauer. Milo Weaver is still haunted by his last job. As an expert assassin for the Department of Tourism, an ultra-secret group of super-spooks buried deep in the corridors of the CIA, he fought to keep himself sane in a paranoid and amoral profession. Now, the Department has been destroyed, and with it Weaver's livelihood. Finally he can spend time with his family - without constantly looking over his shoulder and fixing one eye on the exits. Weaver's former boss is not so settled. For Alan Drummond, Tourism was everything. Now, all he wants is to take revenge on the Chinese spymaster that exploded their operations from within. Weaver tries to persuade him to leave sleeping cells lie, but when Drummond disappears from a London hotel room, Weaver is sucked back down into his old life. Soon, Weaver is sifting through secrets, lies and misinformation. If his time as a Tourist has taught him anything, it's that nothing and no-one can be trusted - even within the CIA itself...It is suitable for readers of John Le Carre and Robert Ludlum.

show more
  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 110 x 176 x 24mm | 220g
  • Corvus
  • LondonUnited Kingdom
  • English
  • Export & Airside ed
  • 0857896695
  • 9780857896698
  • 522,151

Other books in Espionage

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

Praise for "An American Spy""Stunning. . .Readers are irresistibly drawn into Weaver's dogged struggle to unravel a complicated game of cat and mouse. . .Steinhauer is at the top of his game--but when isn't he?"--"USA Today""The action is lickety-split and spiked with exceedingly satisfying spy craft."--"The New York Times""Not since Le Carre has a writer so vividly evoked the multilayered, multifaceted, deeply paranoid world of espionage, in which identities and allegiances are malleable and ever shifting, the mirrors of loyalty and betrayal reflecting one another to infinity. In this intensely clever, sometimes baffling book, it's never quite clear who is manipulating whom, and which side is up."--"The New York Times Book Review""This ambitious, complex story spans the globe. Even when the intricacies of its plot are most challenging, we are fascinated and swept forward. Steinhauer has been likened to John le Carre and rightly so. Both men carry readers deep into a rival spy agency, one Soviet, one Chinese. . .Zhu may in time be to Weaver what the Soviet spymaster Karla was to le Carre's George Smiley. Olen Steinhauer's Milo Weaver novels are must-reads for lovers of the genre."--"The Washington Post"

show more

About Olen Steinhauer

Olen Steinhauer was born in America and has lived in Croatia, the Czech Republic and Italy. He has now settled in Hungary with his wife and daughter. His first book, The Bridge of Sighs, was nominated for five major thriller awards.

show more

Reviews from