To All the Boys I've Loved Before

To All the Boys I've Loved Before

Book rating: 04 Hardback

By (author) Jenny Han

$16.12
List price $17.99
You save $1.87 10% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $8.34
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • Format: Hardback | 355 pages
  • Dimensions: 147mm x 211mm x 33mm | 431g
  • Publication date: 15 April 2014
  • ISBN 10: 1442426705
  • ISBN 13: 9781442426702
  • Sales rank: 3,559

Product description

Lara Jean's love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the "New York Times "bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series. What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them...all at once? Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren't love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she's written. One for every boy she's ever loved--five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean's love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Customer reviews

By Giselle SM 23 Oct 2014 3

This one started as an over-hyped book and I kinda wanted to distance myself because I don't have a good reputation with over-hyped books. But I did manage to read it after getting excited from various people. My verdict? It was all right. I liked it enough and had certain issues with it at the same time. That's when I rate it as a three.

I liked this one. It reminded me so much of the sisterly relationship in Little Women (which is one of my favourites). Lara Jean is the middle child and our main character. Margot is clearly the responsible one. Kitty is the youngest and the feisty sister. I loved their dynamics and their interactions with each other. I love the sisters dynamics, how different they all are. How incredibly close they all are too. It was my favourite part of the book. I also liked the mystery surrounding who she gave her letters to. Sometimes it helped me root for one guy and then for the other. In the end, I didn't have anyone to root for except Lara Jean herself. I was wishing this would be a stand-a-lone but it wasn't since it ended on a cliffhanger. Hopefully she picks the right guy for her.

Overall, it was a cute and fun read and the hype was a little too much for it. I did love the cover since it pictured a POC on it. YAY.

By Lauren Hoeve 09 Oct 2014 3

Read my FULL REVIEW on Lauren Reads YA (with GIFs!): http://laurenreadsya.tumblr.com/post/99580688382/review-to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-by-jenny-han

To All The Boys Iâ??ve Loved Before was a bit of a letdown. I liked it, but it wasnâ??t fantastic like many other people were saying in their 5-star reviews.

I loved the concept of this book. All your secret love letters being mailed out? I donâ??t know what I would doâ?¦ Probably curl up in a ball and die.

It was just very different from what I was expecting. See, I thought it was going to be more of a fun, light mystery focusing more on who sent the letters and how it happened and how she deals with it. But Lara Jean very quickly accepts the fact that they are out into the world and I feel like the consequences could have been a bit more dramatic.

To All The Boys Iâ??ve Loved Before is part of a duology, with the sequel P.S. I Still Love You coming out next year. I canâ??t really imagine what the sequel would be about, and how that would fill an entire book, but sure, Iâ??ll probably pick it up.

By Cheyenne 22 Jun 2014 5

I had to read this book over the summer for English honors and im so glad I got this book it was amazing!!!!!!!!

By Orlanda Machado 28 May 2014 5

Original Blog Review: http://landamac.weebly.com/to-all-the...

My Blog: http://landamac.weebly.com


"When someone's been gone a long time, at first you save up all the things you want to tell them. You try to keep track of everything in your head. But it's like trying to hold on to a fistful of sand: all the little bits slip out of your hands, and then you're just clutching air and grit."


When I started to read this book I was not liking it, seriousy... Before this book I've finished a Sci-Fi book and it was a BIG pain in the ass to get used to this kind of story again. But then I continued reading and I have to tell this: This book is amazing!


I laughed so much in the first 200 pages of this book, it was so funny... Lara Jean is a really funny and unpredictable girl/character.
The true thing is that I loved this book a lot and I was reading it and when I was almost over my heart was beating really fast because I knew that the second book expected publication is only in 2015! I was about to die and I'm not kidding... I was so stupid when I bought this book without the second one released. But, after all, I am really glad I did it, because I loved it and it was really cute and really funny and all the time I was reading my feelings were switching places (like switching boys) and I was doing strange "aaaawww" or "oowwin" sounds (yap, I'm a pretty strange girl).


"You'd rather make up fantasy version of somebody in your head than be with a real person."


This story is about a girl named Lara Jean. She's 16 years old, she has 2 sisters (one with 18 and another one with 9) and a single father because her mom died when she was a kid.
Before her mom died she gave Lara Jean a secret box of letters, so Lara Jean started to write letters to "all the boys that she has loved before". The problem is that her box was not anymore under her bed and the letters has been mailed and now every boy that she liked recieved one letter from her.

By Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books) 12 Apr 2014 4

I wanted to read this one since I saw it on YA Romantics, and loved the premise. I can only imagine the waves that letters helping her get over boys she'd loved were actually mailed. You can't take words back and I wonder what sort will be unleashed on unsuspecting boys.

I wasn't expecting the strong family dynamics in this one, and it really was well done and a positive surprise. Our main character Lara is really close with her older sister Margot and younger Kitty. They band together to help their single dad (mom died). They really work for each other's happiness, and have a bond that only loss, time and being family can form.

The first boy that Lara gets over is her older sister's boyfriend Josh. He was the next door neighbor and was around and friends with them even longer than he had a relationship with Margot, so I can def see where Lara would fall for him. Plus, he is a good guy, being nice and playing with Kitty, hanging out with their dad, and is thoughtful and fun. This is such a hard subject though because you know that it would only hurt the bond if Lara was ever to act on or admit her feelings, but we also know this will happen because of the summary, so I was anxious at how that would effect their friendship and relationship. I also couldn't pull for Lara to get him because I saw how much he cared for Margot. It still added another element to the story because I had to know if he ever felt anything back and how Lara continues to deal with it.

Lara Jean herself is such a fun narrator. She is quirky and thinks a lot like me, she doesn't quite fit into the old crowd of friends she had, but she isn't unpopular persay. She is smart but she is more of a homebody than the average high schooler, also like me. She isn't perfect and that is what makes her even greater. She makes questionable decisions, says things that hurts her sister, and she has bad days. But she rebounds, she figures out a way to get through, and even when she makes a stack of lies, something I know I have done before, she doesn't weasel out of any responsibility of consequences. It was fun to watch her grow and deal with the changes in her life, and watch her to learn a person not just from a fantasy in her mind but up close and personal.

The romance was different, and while I have read a setup that shares similarities it was pretty new to me, and interesting to see how it played out and how their decisions effected themselves, the other person and those around them. I ended up liking guy in question more than I thought that I could and he surprised me on more than one occassion (Lara too) at how deep he could actually be and what was hidden behind his good looks. I especially loved how he ended up being at the house with Lara and Kitty a lot and how he treated Kitty like a real person and joked with her, making her feel included and special.

I liked that their dad tried so hard to be a good parent. He probably missed his wife so much he couldn't think some days, but he kept the girls, and they stuck together. He made the awkward talks with them, and tried to take back some of the responsibilities that the girls took on to help him, he tried to let them be kids. Even though he worked hard, he wasn't an absent parent, and when he was home, he did things with the family instead of holing up or going out.

I enjoyed it and flew through the story. I will def be picking up the next book and can't wait to see more from the life of the Song girls, especially Lara Jean.

Bottom Line: It was a fast, sweet, sometimes emotional book with a romance I could get behind, a premise I loved, a quirky main character, and sweet romance.

Review quote

A wonderful choice for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.--Booklist "March 15, 2014 "