The Alchemyst

The Alchemyst

Book rating: 04 Paperback Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel (Quality)

By (author) Michael Scott

USD$8.46
List price $10.99
You save $2.53 23% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell
  • Format: Paperback | 375 pages
  • Dimensions: 130mm x 203mm x 25mm | 295g
  • Publication date: 24 June 2008
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0385736002
  • ISBN 13: 9780385736008
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Sales rank: 8,178

Product description

Read the first book in the "New York Times" bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of "The Maze Runner" and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.He holds the secret that can end the world.The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330. Nearly 700 years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life.The records show that he died in 1418.But his tomb is empty.The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects--the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won't know what's happening until it's too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.Sometimes legends are true.And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time. Praise for The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series: " ""The Alchemyst"[STAR] "[A] A riveting fantasy...While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias...those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read."--"School Library Journal," Starred "The Magician"[STAR] "Readers will be swept up by a plot that moves smartly along, leaving a wide trailer of destruction and well-timed revelations."--"Kirkus Reveiws," Starred "The Sorceress""Master yarnspinner that he is, Scott expertly cranks up the suspense while keeping his now-large cast in quick motion....This page -turner promises plenty of action to come."--"Kirkus Reviews" "The Necromancer""Unrelenting forward momentum....This book will thrill fans."--"School Library Journal" "From the Hardcover edition."

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Michael Scott is the "New York Times" bestselling author of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, an authority on mythology and folklore, and one of Ireland's most successful authors. A master of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and folklore, Michael has been hailed by the Irish Times as "the King of Fantasy in these isles." The Alchemyst is the first book in the Nicholas Flamel series. Look for book two, The Magician; book three, The Sorceress; book four, The Necromancer; book five, The Warlock; and book six, The Enchantress, all available from Delacorte Press. You can follow Michael Scott on Twitter @flameauthor and visit him at DillonScott.com. "From the Hardcover edition."

Customer reviews

By Michelle Dunlop 20 Dec 2012 5

Hello! I bought this set for my 10 year old who raced through the books and told me to read them too. Yes, I was up until 2 in the morning reading the last one! Combining myths and legends with historical facts and characters, made this set of books continually interesting, and it's narrative flowing page by page as the excitement builds and twists and turns. It is wonderful to find books that keep you wanting more and to be able to get better and better with each book. Well done Michael Scott...we want more!

By Nathiel Gold 24 Jan 2012 4

I loved this book it was really interesting. I always liked the legend surrounding Nicholas Flamel and his wife Perenelle, and this story is great putting them both in modern times with Nick as the owner of a bookstore.

Josh Newman works at this store, while his twin sister Sophie works in the coffee shop across the street.

Until one day Nick's store is attacked by Doctor John Dee a horrible magician working for the Dark Elders who want the book containing the secrets of the Alchemy.

So Josh, Sophie and Nick have to run and on the way the twins will find out things about themselves they never new.

What I most liked about this book is all the ancient gods Michael includes here: Hecate, Morrigan, Baset... personally Heacte was my favorite :)

I also loved Scathach and Sophie although I found Josh a bit annoying, probably because he complained alot, then again if I was in his situation I would probably complain to, poor thing.

This book is fast paced full of magic adventure and old legends coming to life.

If you like fantasy books you'll enjoy this one.

By TeensReadToo 23 Sep 2010 5

Two twins can change the world, but little do they realize their whole lives are about to change when Dr. Dee walks into the bookstore where Josh works. Sophie, who works across the street, senses something suspicious after watching the strange man.

After a magical fight that involves both siblings, they discover Josh's boss isn't exactly who he's claiming to be.

He is in fact the famous Nicolas Flamel, whose tomb lies empty. He and his wife have been on the run to escape Dr. Dee's clutches and hide a magical book, which holds more secrets than anyone imagines. When Dr Dee captures Nicholas's wife and part of the book, Nicholas reacts quickly. Since the twins have already been exposed, he allows them to accompany him as he sets forth to recover both Perry and the book.

Michael Scott pens the first novel in a new series with action-packed adventure and fantasy. Harry Potter fans will, of course, recognize the name Nicholas Flamel, but that's where the similarities between the two stories end. THE ALCHEMYST delivers a fresh spin on magic that is sure to please.

*Gold Star Award Winner!

Review quote

"[A] riveting fantasy. While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias . . . those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read." "--School Library Journal, "Starred "Scott offers a classic fantasy . . . that will put readers on the edge of their seats as they rush to the final page. . . . [An] exhilarating fantasy.""--Booklist ""The juxtaposition of our reality with magic and myth is riveting." "--Kirkus Reviews"