The Age of Desire

The Age of Desire

Paperback

By (author) Jennie Fields

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $20.99
Paperback $13.61
CD-Audio $23.81
  • Publisher: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback | 368 pages
  • Dimensions: 153mm x 234mm x 26mm | 481g
  • Publication date: 30 August 2012
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0091949726
  • ISBN 13: 9780091949723
  • Sales rank: 1,100,371

Product description

She is the darling of Parisian society. A famous author whose novels have captivated readers. He is a charming young journalist with nothing to lose. While novelist Edith Wharton writes of grand love affairs, she has yet to experience her own. Her marriage is more platonic than passionate and her closest relationship is with her literary secretary, Anna Bahlmann. Then Edith meets dashing Morton Fullerton, and her life is at last opened to the world of the sensual. But in giving in to the temptation of their illicit liaison, Edith could lose everything else she holds dear...Set in the Gilded Age of Paris society, Jennie Field's sumptuous novel retells the true story of a scandal involving one of the greatest writers of the 20th Century.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Jennie Fields received an M.A. in creative writing from the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop and is the author of the novels Lily Beach, Crossing Brooklyn Ferry, and The Middle Ages. An Illinois native, she spent 25 years as an advertising creative director in New York and currently lives with her husband in Nashville, Tennessee.

Review quote

"A fascinating insight into the life of my favourite novelist. Fields brings a secret side of Wharton to life, and shows us a woman whose elegant facade concealed a turbulent sensuality" Daisy Goodwin "With astonishing tenderness and immediacy, The Age of Desire portrays the interwoven lives of Edith Wharton and Anna Bahlmann, her governess, secretary, and close friend. By focusing on these two women from vastly different backgrounds, Jennie Fields miraculously illuminates an entire era...I was filled with regret that I'd finished reading so soon" Lauren Belfer, author of City of Light and A Fierce Radiance "[Fields'] portrayal of Edith Wharton in love is imaginative and bold and offers a touching view of Wharton... Fields immerses us in Wharton's household, her social milieu, and her most private self." Irene Goldman-Price, editor of My Dear Governess: The Letters of Edith Wharton to Anna Bahlmann "In the vein of Loving Frank or The Paris Wife, Jennie Fields has created a page-turning period piece. Fields portrays a woman whose life was hardly innocence and mirth, but passionate, complex and more mysterious than one might ever imagine" Mary Morris, author of Nothing to Declare and Revenge