• The Age of Desire See large image

    The Age of Desire (Paperback) By (author) Jennie Fields

    Currently unavailable

    We can notify you when this item is back in stock

    | Add to wishlist

    OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window).

    Try AbeBooks
    Also available in...
    Hardback $21.12
    Paperback $13.66
    CD-Audio $26.95

    DescriptionShe is the darling of Parisian society. A famous author whose novels have captivated readers. He is a charming young journalist with nothing to lose. While novelist Edith Wharton writes of grand love affairs, she has yet to experience her own. Her marriage is more platonic than passionate and her closest relationship is with her literary secretary, Anna Bahlmann. Then Edith meets dashing Morton Fullerton, and her life is at last opened to the world of the sensual. But in giving in to the temptation of their illicit liaison, Edith could lose everything else she holds dear...Set in the Gilded Age of Paris society, Jennie Field's sumptuous novel retells the true story of a scandal involving one of the greatest writers of the 20th Century.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Age of Desire

    Title
    The Age of Desire
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Jennie Fields
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 368
    Width: 153 mm
    Height: 234 mm
    Thickness: 26 mm
    Weight: 481 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780091949723
    ISBN 10: 0091949726
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    DC21: 813.54
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    DC22: FIC
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: TP090
    Ingram Theme: SEXL/FEMINE
    Ingram Subject Code: FH
    BISAC V2.8: FIC044000, FIC014000
    BIC subject category V2: FB
    Thema V1.0: FBA
    Publisher
    Ebury Press
    Imprint name
    Ebury Press
    Publication date
    30 August 2012
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Jennie Fields received an M.A. in creative writing from the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop and is the author of the novels Lily Beach, Crossing Brooklyn Ferry, and The Middle Ages. An Illinois native, she spent 25 years as an advertising creative director in New York and currently lives with her husband in Nashville, Tennessee.
    Review quote
    "A fascinating insight into the life of my favourite novelist. Fields brings a secret side of Wharton to life, and shows us a woman whose elegant facade concealed a turbulent sensuality" Daisy Goodwin "With astonishing tenderness and immediacy, The Age of Desire portrays the interwoven lives of Edith Wharton and Anna Bahlmann, her governess, secretary, and close friend. By focusing on these two women from vastly different backgrounds, Jennie Fields miraculously illuminates an entire era...I was filled with regret that I'd finished reading so soon" Lauren Belfer, author of City of Light and A Fierce Radiance "[Fields'] portrayal of Edith Wharton in love is imaginative and bold and offers a touching view of Wharton... Fields immerses us in Wharton's household, her social milieu, and her most private self." Irene Goldman-Price, editor of My Dear Governess: The Letters of Edith Wharton to Anna Bahlmann "In the vein of Loving Frank or The Paris Wife, Jennie Fields has created a page-turning period piece. Fields portrays a woman whose life was hardly innocence and mirth, but passionate, complex and more mysterious than one might ever imagine" Mary Morris, author of Nothing to Declare and Revenge