The Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2001

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2001

By (author)


You save US$4.29

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?


The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established in 1977 to encourage and bring to international attention the work of architects and designers building in Muslim nations. Previous winners of this prestigious award, which is given every three years, include such architects as Balkrishna Doshi, Ken Yeang, Jean Nouvel, Charles Correa, Frei Otto and Hassan Fathy. Nominated and documented by their architects, planners or development teams and clients, including commercial companies, communities and private individuals, the projects encompass a broad range of building, from restoration and urban renewal to revisited vernacular and modern reinterpretations. For this year's award, the steering committee includes Kenneth Frampton, Zaha Hadid and Charles Correa. With each of the winning schemes profiled and illustrated in depth, and critical essays that consider the challenges and rewards confronting architects working in Muslim countries, this important yet accessibly priced publication provides valuable insight into a wide array of practices, methods and design solutions.

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 176 pages
  • 215.9 x 274.3 x 17.8mm | 861.84g
  • Thames & Hudson Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 296 illustrations, 82 in colour
  • 0500283303
  • 9780500283301
  • 1,278,997

About Kenneth Frampton

Kenneth Frampton is Ware Professor of Architecture at Columbia University and the author of several bestselling books on architecture, among them Modern Architecture and Le Corbusier, both in Thames & Hudson's World of Art series.

show more