Acheron

Acheron

Book rating: 04 Paperback Dark-Hunter Novels (Paperback)

By (author) Sherrilyn Kenyon

$8.50

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
CD-Audio $35.96
  • Publisher: St Martin's Press
  • Format: Paperback | 816 pages
  • Dimensions: 104mm x 165mm x 36mm | 363g
  • Publication date: 31 March 2009
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 0312949413
  • ISBN 13: 9780312949419
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Sales rank: 8,055

Product description

Eleven thousand years ago, a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron spent a lifetime of shame. But the strongest steel is forged from the fires of hell...Acheron's human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Then, brought back against his will, he became the sole defender of mankind. Only, it was never that simple. For centuries, Acheron has fought for our survival and hidden a past he'll do anything to keep concealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence. Now his survival - and ours - hinges on hers, and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both. War has never been more deadly...or more fun.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

In the past two years, "New York Times" bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon has claimed the #1 spot twelve times, and since 2004, she has placed more than 50 novels on the "New York Times" list. This extraordinary bestseller continues to top every genre she writes. With more than 23 million copies of her books in print in over 30 countries, her current series include: "The Dark-Hunters," "The League," "Lords of Avalon," "BAD Agency," "Chronicles of Nick" and "Nevermore." A preeminent voice in paranormal fiction, Kenyon helped pioneer and define the current paranormal trend that has captivated the world. She lives with her husband, three sons, a menagerie of animals and a collection of swords.

Customer reviews

By Nicky Dunne 27 Aug 2013 5

I am a 42 year old woman who has loved so many wonderful books by my fav Authors,Lyndsay Sands,Kresley Cole,Kerrelyn Sparks,Christine Feehan to name a few. I have all there books and love them all but i must say, there is NO one as amazing as Sherrilyn. I am amazed by all her books and the unforgettable stories she writes. But Acheron is and i have no doubt will always be my Favourite book of all time. From the moment i had it in my hands i was captivated, his story is heart breaking. He is such a amazingly strong character for the hell he went through in his young life .I dont know what else to say without telling you the whole story, he will get into you heart and you will NEVER forget him.As soon as i read this book i gave it to my friends 18 year old daughter to read ( as we discovered Sherrilyn together ) and she was TXt me the whole way through the book and was also amazed at his story.I would with out a doubt say it is also her Fav book of all time. She loved the book so much i couldn't take it back off her, so i gave it to her and i bought another copy.
If you only ever read 1 book in your life Ash's book is it.He will melt your heart and when i read her other books and he is in them it brings a smile to my face.
You will LOVE this book and all of her books take you into her amazing world. Enjoy Nicky

By Rainy Days and Pajamas 04 Oct 2011 5

I have had this book since it first came out. Back then I wasn't big on getting hardcover, mainly because of the price and I had a lack of funds, but for Ash's story, I was willing to spend the money.
I was not let down either.
At least three years later I am still re-reading it every year, more then once and enjoying every minute of it dispite knowing the outcomes.
It is just one of those reads you can't put down.
As it chornicles the horror's of Ash's life, I have found that it is starting to chronicle mine as well. There are photo's and notes stuck between the pages, flowers from my love presserved in time.

This is the book that makes you fall in love with the big bad cursed Atlantean god who is in charge of Artemis's Dark-Hunters. Earlier in the series it has hinted that his past wasn't a good one and with this book you are taken along his journey.

I don't want to say to much about his story, mainly because I am afraid of giving it away, and it truly is a great read. I will recommend it to anyone who needs a good book to read. Even if you haven't read the series it is still a good book to settle down with.

It was just amazing to see how much faith he has in humanity dispite all the wrong they did to him, And I was happy to have someone finally love him for him, past and all. It was the best ending.
For Fans of Ash, I will also recommend that you check out the bonus scene in Retribution book 20 of the series. You will love it.

By Malika Cherry 23 Mar 2011 5

WOW!! i can't believe how much the other review is nonsense!!
guys i have read A LOT of paranormal, fantasy, fiction romance and this is PRIME! I can'T even believe how WONDERFUl this book is! I think about it all the time and can't even explain how good it is. it is by far the best book of the series but also the best book ever.

I hope one day i will be able to find another book as intriguing, fun, sad, mysterious, sexy and as good as this one.
a must read!!
LOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEED iit!!

By Cherry 05 Aug 2010 1

I like things to make sense and I like my stories to tie up. But this book has so many loose ends, it made me think that, one, S. Kenyon is losing her touch. Or, two, she was under too much pressure to write this book. Either way, this book did not rate very high. I would not recommend this book to a new S. Kenyon fan or anybody who has not read her work yet. It would put them off.For one, in the basketball court scene with Sunshine, where Tory commented:
"The tall blond who can't shoot hoops?"
How did Tory knew that Talon can't shoot hoops, when the description or any mention about him being unable to shoot hoops, was made after the comment.... duh...It lost me there for a second while reading that part, until I came to the "explanation" that Talon can't shoot hoops. It would have been nice to have that "explanatory line" before the comment so that the readers are not lost and the story lines make sense then. And, there isn't any snag in the flow of the story.

There are many other loose ends like that, but I won't give out spoilers. So, if you are a long time Dark Hunter fan already, borrow this book rather than buy. Not worth the money. On the positive side, it mentioned in the end, about Zarek and other Dark Hunters which went a long way into alleviating my ire.

Review quote

PRAISE FOR SHERRILYN KENYON "Kenyon is the reigning queen of the vampire novel."--Barbara Vey, "Publishers Weekly""An engaging read."--"Entertainment Weekly "on "Devil May Cry""Kenyon's writing is brisk, ironic, sexy, and relentlessly imaginative. These are not your mother's vampire novels."--"The Boston Globe "on "Dark Side of the Moon"

Back cover copy

"Finally, the story of the Dark-Hunter leader, Acheron, is revealed..."He was made human in order to escape death. Eleven thousand years ago, a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron spent a lifetime of shame. But the strongest steel is forged from the fires of hell...But in death, he was reborn a god...Acheron's human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Then, brought back against his will, he became the sole defender of mankind. Only it was never that simple. For centuries, Acheron has fought for our survival and hidden a past he'll do anything to keep concealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence. Now his survival--and ours--hinges on hers, and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both. War has never been more deadly...or more fun."Brisk, ironic, sexy, and relentlessly imaginative."--"Boston"" Globe"