• 22 Britannia Road See large image

    22 Britannia Road (Basic) (Hardback) By (author) Amanda Hodgkinson

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $33.54 - Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $9.91

    DescriptionA tour de force that echoes modern classics like "Suite Francaise" and "The Postmistress." "Housekeeper or housewife?" the soldier asks Silvana as she and eight- year-old Aurek board the ship that will take them from Poland to England at the end of World War II. There her husband, Janusz, is already waiting for them at the little house at 22 Britannia Road. But the war has changed them all so utterly that they'll barely recognize one another when they are reunited. "Survivor," she answers. Silvana and Aurek spent the war hiding in the forests of Poland. Wild, almost feral Aurek doesn't know how to tie his own shoes or sleep in a bed. Janusz is an Englishman now-determined to forget Poland, forget his own ghosts from the way, and begin a new life as a proper English family. But for Silvana, who cannot escape the painful memory of a shattering wartime act, forgetting is not a possibility. One of the most searing debuts to come along in years, "22 Britannia Road


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for 22 Britannia Road

    Title
    22 Britannia Road
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Amanda Hodgkinson
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 535
    Width: 147 mm
    Height: 221 mm
    Thickness: 28 mm
    Weight: 522 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781410438966
    ISBN 10: 1410438961
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    DC21: 823.92
    BIC subject category V2: FV, FA
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: FIC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    LC subject heading: ,
    Ingram Subject Code: FC
    Libri: I-FC
    B&T Modifier: Continuations: 02
    B&T Approval Code: P25208000
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 69
    DC22: 823/.92
    B&T Merchandise Category: LP
    LC subject heading: , , , , ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC014000, FIC019000
    LC subject heading:
    LC classification: PR6108.O33 A615 2011B
    Edition
    Large type / large print
    Edition statement
    large type edition
    Publisher
    Thorndike Press
    Imprint name
    Thorndike Press
    Publication date
    24 August 2011
    Publication City/Country
    Waterville, ME
    Review quote
    "A riveting historical novel, set in post-WWII England, about a Polish couple reunited after enduring-and committing-crimes of love and war." -"O, the Oprah Magazine" "Hodgkinson's debut is an eloquent, heart-wrenching account of one couple's struggle to reunite as a family after devastating wartime experiences. A stellar example of literary WWII fiction." -"Booklist " "What comes after surviving? asks Hodgkinson in her ambitious, emotionally incisive first novel threaded with primitive human instincts for safety and companionship. Hodgkinson enters boldly into well-trodden, sensitive territory and distinguishes herself with freshness and empathy." -"Kirkus" (starred review) "Fans of novels like "The Guernsey Literary" and "Potato Peel Society" and "Sarah's Key", who can never have too much of a good war story, will warm to this fine debut. Recommended." -"Library Journal"