22 Britannia Road

22 Britannia Road

By (author)


You save US$1.57

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 11 business days

When will my order arrive?

A tour de force that echoes modern classics like "Suite Francaise" and "The Postmistress." "Housekeeper or housewife?" the soldier asks Silvana as she and eight- year-old Aurek board the ship that will take them from Poland to England at the end of World War II. There her husband, Janusz, is already waiting for them at the little house at 22 Britannia Road. But the war has changed them all so utterly that they'll barely recognize one another when they are reunited. "Survivor," she answers. Silvana and Aurek spent the war hiding in the forests of Poland. Wild, almost feral Aurek doesn't know how to tie his own shoes or sleep in a bed. Janusz is an Englishman now-determined to forget Poland, forget his own ghosts from the way, and begin a new life as a proper English family. But for Silvana, who cannot escape the painful memory of a shattering wartime act, forgetting is not a possibility. One of the most searing debuts to come along in years, "22 Britannia Road

show more
  • Hardback | 535 pages
  • 147.32 x 220.98 x 27.94mm | 521.63g
  • Thorndike Press
  • Waterville, MEUnited States
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • large type edition
  • 1410438961
  • 9781410438966

Other books in Contemporary Fiction

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"A riveting historical novel, set in post-WWII England, about a Polish couple reunited after enduring-and committing-crimes of love and war." -"O, the Oprah Magazine" "Hodgkinson's debut is an eloquent, heart-wrenching account of one couple's struggle to reunite as a family after devastating wartime experiences. A stellar example of literary WWII fiction." -"Booklist " "What comes after surviving? asks Hodgkinson in her ambitious, emotionally incisive first novel threaded with primitive human instincts for safety and companionship. Hodgkinson enters boldly into well-trodden, sensitive territory and distinguishes herself with freshness and empathy." -"Kirkus" (starred review) "Fans of novels like "The Guernsey Literary" and "Potato Peel Society" and "Sarah's Key", who can never have too much of a good war story, will warm to this fine debut. Recommended." -"Library Journal"

show more

Reviews from Goodreads.com