22 Britannia Road

22 Britannia Road

By (author)


You save US$2.47

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

"Hodgkinson's portrait of the primal bond between mother and child . . . leaves an indelible impression." "The New York Times Book Review"Debuting its first week on the "New York Times" bestseller list and earning comparisons to "Sophie's Choice" and "Sarah's Key," "22 Britannia Road" is an astonishing first novel that powerfully chronicles one family's struggle to create a home in the aftermath of war.With World War II finally over, Silvana and her seven-year-old son, Aurek, board the ship that will take them to England, where Silvana's husband, Janusz determined to forget his ghosts has rented a little house at 22 Britannia Road. But after years spent hiding in the forests of Poland, Aurek is wild, almost feral. And for Silvana, who cannot escape the painful memory of a shattering wartime act, forgetting is not a possibility."

show more
  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 129.54 x 203.2 x 22.86mm | 204.12g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NYUnited States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0143121049
  • 9780143121046
  • 752,979

Other books in Contemporary Fiction

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"A riveting historical novel, set in post-WWII England, about a Polish couple reunited after enduring-and committing-crimes of love and war." -"O, the Oprah Magazine" "Hodgkinson's debut is an eloquent, heart-wrenching account of one couple's struggle to reunite as a family after devastating wartime experiences. A stellar example of literary WWII fiction." -"Booklist " "What comes after surviving? asks Hodgkinson in her ambitious, emotionally incisive first novel threaded with primitive human instincts for safety and companionship. Hodgkinson enters boldly into well-trodden, sensitive territory and distinguishes herself with freshness and empathy." -"Kirkus" (starred review) "Fans of novels like "The Guernsey Literary" and "Potato Peel Society" and "Sarah's Key", who can never have too much of a good war story, will warm to this fine debut. Recommended." -"Library Journal"

show more

About Amanda Hodgkinson

Amanda Hodgkinson was born in Burnham-on-Sea, England, and lives with her husband and two daughters in a farmhouse in the southwest of France. This is her first novel.

show more

Reviews from Goodreads.com