Christmas Posting Dates
1222

1222

Paperback

By (author) Anne Holt

$9.31
List price $10.95
You save $1.64 14% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $16.87
  • Publisher: ATLANTIC BOOKS
  • Format: Paperback | 304 pages
  • Dimensions: 110mm x 176mm x 26mm | 181g
  • Publication date: 1 December 2010
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1848878109
  • ISBN 13: 9781848878105
  • Edition statement: Export & Airside ed
  • Sales rank: 56,835

Product description

A snowbound mountain pass, a derailed train, a locked, shuttered and heavily guarded carriage, an apocalyptic storm, an ancient hotel, old betrayals, murder and state secrets: this is the Corvus launch of one of Scandinavia's hottest crime writers. 1222 metres above sea level, train 601 from Oslo to Bergen careens of iced rails as the worst snowstorm in Norwegian history gathers force around it. Marooned in the high mountains with night falling and the temperature plummeting, its 269 passengers are forced to abandon their snowbound train and decamp to a centuries-old mountain hotel. They ought to be safe from the storm here, but as dawn breaks one of them will be found dead, murdered. With the storm showing no sign of abating, retired police inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen is asked to investigate. But Hanne has no wish to get involved. She has learned the hard way that truth comes at a price and sometimes that price just isn't worth paying. Her pursuit of truth and justice has cost her the love of her life, her career in the Oslo Police Department and her mobility: she is paralysed from the waist down by a bullet lodged in her spine. Trapped in a wheelchair, trapped by the killer within, trapped by the deadly storm outside, Hanne's growing unease is shared by everyone in the hotel. Should she investigate, or should she just wait for help to arrive? And all the time rumours swirl about a secret cargo carried by train 601. Why was the last carriage sealed? Why is the top floor of the hotel locked down? Who or what is being concealed? And, of course, what if the killer strikes again? It is suitable for fans of Val McDermid, Henning Mankell, Steig Larsson and the TV series "Wallander".

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Anne Holt spent two years working for the Oslo Police Department before founding her own law firm and serving as Norway's Minister for Justice in 1996/97. Her first book was published in 1993 and she has subsequently developed two series: the Hanne Wilhelmsen series and the Vik/Stubo series. Both series will be published by Corvus.

Review quote

"* 'Anne Holt is the latest crime writer to reveal how truly dark it gets in Scandinavia' - Val McDermid * 'A pleasure from start to finish... a dazzling and classic crime story and a brilliant thriller' - Bokavisen, Norway * 'A fascinating, extremely modern homage to the classic detective novel' - Der Spiegel, Germany * 'Holt updates the classic locked-room-mystery with such bravado that on the last page the reader can only give a deep sigh of contentment' - Aamulehti, Finland * 'A masterpiece in the genre, a real non-stop read' - Skanska Dagbladet, Sweden"